Dealbreakers: What Makes You Quit a Book?

Earlier this week, I wrote about dealbreakers for the RRFS blog. Come talk to me about what makes you drop a book!

The Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society

I think we’ve all got those dealbreakers, those things that a story can do that will make us drop it like a hot potato. These vary from person to person, and what wrecks a story for one person will be something another can let slide. Some people will finish a book no matter how much they hate it; others won’t give it more than a few pages before they toss it into the “did not finish” pile and move on to something else.

I used to be in the camp of “finish the book no matter what,” but in the past 5 years or so, I’ve come to the conclusion that life’s too short to read books I don’t like.

Here’s what tends to throw me out of a story:

View original post 690 more words

Leave a Reply

