NaNoWriMo 2014 – First Update?!?

Participant-2014-Twitter-ProfileIt’s amazing how quickly this month has flown by. I meant to do my weekly NaNo updates as I have every year since 2011, but this year it just seems like it wasn’t in the cards. So here’s where I am so far!

Minimum word count for November 18: 30,000/50,000

My word count: 29,469/50,000

Current story count: 5 drafts complete

Adventures in NaNoing: Why yes, you read that correctly. “Current story count” is a new statistic!

That’s because this year I didn’t have a story I could expand to a full novel this year, so I decided to write short stories and novellas. This also gave me the chance to get a few stories I’ve had in my head for awhile on paper, and it is kind of nice to practice writing in a shorter format than what I usually do.

By “five drafts complete,” I mean I’ve finished first drafts on five stories. Some need more editing than others. 😀

If you look at my graph on the site, you’ll see that this year I’m tracking along almost exactly with the daily word count. I think this is in a large part because I’m doing multiple shorter works, as opposed to one giant one. It’s occasionally difficult to get traction on a short story the way I would a novel, because whereas there I’d have one scene that’s 2500 words, with the short stories, that’s my entire word count. Plus, with switching between different stories and characters, it sometimes drains me faster than just being able to immerse myself in a single story, so even my big word count days aren’t as high as they usually are.

That being said, it’s also EXTREMELY satisfying to accomplish little goals in NaNo, not just by hitting my word count, but also by finishing a story draft. 🙂 I like being able to look over a story and go, “Yeah, this is done!” and then set it aside to edit the first week of December.

So far, NaNo itself has been tremendously satisfying as well. We had 40 (40!!) people show up at IHOP on Halloween for our midnight kickoff, which was a bit of a mess but still so, so much fun. There are few things I enjoy more than getting to start writing with a big group right at midnight. It feels like we start the month of right that way. 😀

We also had a mid-month party for the second year in a row, and spent the evening hanging out at a comic shop, eating pizza and cupcakes and talking about random things while one of our WriMos did manicures for those who wanted them. It was nice to have a break from the writing madness and get to see people who hadn’t gotten to come to some of the other in-person events.

Of course, next week is Thanksgiving, which means at LEAST two days of no writing, possibly three. I’m looking forward to seeing my family, but I am equally glad there’s a full weekend at the end of the month so I can catch up on my word count. 🙂

For you other NaNo writers, how’s your month going? Are you staying on target? Insanely behind? Insanely ahead?

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo 2014 – First Update?!?

  1. It must be really nice to be writing short stories/novellas and get to say, “Done!” several times throughout NaNoWriMo. Finishing scenes and chapters just doesn’t quite have that same zest of finality. So far, I’m ahead of the word count and hoping I can finish my entire manuscript by November 30 (it will probably be 65-70k words long). Good luck with the rest of November!

    • Michelle says:

      Wow, that’s awesome! Yay for being ahead of word count!

      And yeah, it’s really nice to get to say “done!” so many times, and weirdly relieving? Like, “Ah, this is finished, and I no longer have to think about it!” But I do miss being able to just dig into a single novel and go. 🙂

      Good luck to you as well!

Leave a Reply

