June #WriteMotivation – Week 4

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

I can’t believe there’s only one week left in June. It feels like this month has just flown by.

In other news, the July sign-ups for #WriteMotivation are live, and you can still get in on the July session of Camp NaNoWriMo.

1) Write at least two reviews.
I’ve written three, and all of them are either published or scheduled.

2) Revise 4 chapters of MGG and the synopsis.
I’ve made it a little further through this one, but sadly not much headway.

3) Start revisions on NaNo novel. (This will not be until at least halfway through the month, so I have time to take a break from it.)
I have started! The first thing I did was skim through the story and make a calendar, so I would have a good ballpark of when the story was actually taking place. Everything happens over the course of about seven weeks, and I had completely forgotten that 6 chapters near the end of the novel actually take place in a 24-hour period. Because of this, I’ve revised the timeline for some of the backstory, so hopefully that will help with some of the novel’s events.

I’ve also made notes on a few other things I need to research, and a couple of things that are less “research” and more “give me 20 minutes with a notebook and pencil so I can make some awful geographic doodles.” (I don’t know why, but I don’t ever draw maps until I’m done with the first draft.)

I’ve also rewritten most of the first scene, so yay!

4) Read three books.
No significant progress to speak of.

How’s your month going? Are you feeling good about the one week left, or are you, like me, wondering where the time went?

Leave a Reply

