May #WriteMotivation – Week 3

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

This past weekend I was in Durant because my youngest sister graduated high school! I’m so, so very proud of her. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m also still kind of surprised because now all my siblings are officially out of high school.

This also meant I got to see a lot of my family members, and that my sisters and brothers and I were all together for the first time in probably close to a year. It was a lot of fun, but as you might have guessed, I didn’t actually get a whole lot done. In fact, I didn’t open my computer all weekend.

I know. I was shocked too.

Goal update:

1) Write at least 3 reviews.
Still where it was last week.

2) Finish NaNo novel.
I’m at nearly 6,000 words for this month (whee!) and I’m continuing to crawl my way to the end. ๐Ÿ™‚ With just a couple of good, solid days of writing, I think I could have this knocked out.

3) Build a list of 5-10 agents to submit MGG to.
I started browsing QueryTracker and adding to/updating the list of agents I’d been building for TSB last year, since I had a feeling some of them would work for MGG. I’ve highlighted 4 agents I definitely want to query, removed a couple who don’t really sound interested in this genre, and blacked out a couple more who are currently closed to unsolicited queries. So just a little more time on this, and I’ll have a solid starting place.

4) Revise MGG query and chapters 6, 7, 10, and 11.
I’ve been poking a little at chapters 6 & 7, and I think I’ve got a pretty good hold on how I can update those to better fit with the new setting without losing any of the bits that need to happen there. I don’t know if I’ll be able to complete the revision on four full chapters before the end of the month, but I will give it my very best shot. At the very least, I will outline how things need to change.

5) Read 2 books.
Yeah, remember how I said if I didn’t finish Riveted last week, it would be because I had forcefully made myself focus on other goals? Yeah, guess what book I finished last week. >.>

On the plus side, I get to mark this goal off my list, and I’ve started reading Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.

Stretch goals:
1) Finish at least one blog series that’s in the queue.
2) Read 4 books, including one nonfiction book.
3) Start revising 2013 NaNo novel.

How’s May treating you guys? Doing well on your own goals?

2 comments on “May #WriteMotivation – Week 3

  1. so does this building list of agents mean that you are going to start submitting soon? how exciting! i am so far behind on my reading goal, i need to stay up for a couple of days straight just to make a dent. i’ve been meaning to read bird by bird for awhile, too.

    • Michelle says:

      I hope so! Obviously I want to get my chapters edited first, and then I’ll make another pass just to make sure everything is as tight and clean as I can get it before I send it out.

      So far, I’m really enjoying Bird by Bird. The examples she uses are definitely geared toward memoir-style stories, but the general advice is good for just about any author. I especially liked the chapters on short assignments and shitty first drafts. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

