April Camp NaNo and #WriteMotivation Update – Week 3

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

As before, here are the RRFS A-Z Challenge posts thus far!

A is for Apostrophe – Me!
Classical British PoetsLissa
Consent and You! Why It’s Important to Think About Consent in Your WritingEris
The Quirky and Captivating Characters of DiscworldSerena
Let’s Talk About Ellipses…Rebekah
F is for Fanfiction – Me
Divine Gaiman – Revelations of a Humble Genius – Lissa
H is for Hangover (From Writing) – Eris
How do you Idea? – A Day in the Brain of a Ferret – Serena
J.R.R. Tolkien – A Bit of Gratitude – Rebekah
K is for King (Stephen, that is) – Me
The Meaning of a Letter – Lissa
Martin–as in George R.R. – Eris
The Importance of Non-Fiction to Fiction Writing – Serena
Choosing the Best Opening Scene for Your Story – Rebekah
P is for Pierce, Tamora – Me
Writers are Weird – A Look at Quirks – Lissa
Representation Issues – Eris

And now, my goal updates:

2014-Participant-Vertical-Banner1. Camp NaNo – Finish draft 2 of MGG.
Word count goal: 67,000
Current word count: 65,633

I finished! I finished! I finished!

excited-stiles

castle-booya

bouncy-happy-scott

absolute-glee

Draft two is complete! I finished transferring over the paper edits of my last two chapters on Saturday morning, before I had to head out to see family for the Easter holiday. It was wonderful to have that accomplished before I left town.

I cut out approximately 2,000 words and cleaned up a lot of the story. Then yesterday, because I was still on a high, I rewrote my query and tightened it up. Overall, I’m pretty happy, in case you couldn’t tell. 🙂

Of course, we’ll see how long that lasts.

And now, if you’ll excuse me:

binge-drink-pass-out

2. Finish 2013 NaNo novel.
I did not make much headway on this goal last week, sadly. I did, however, write about 200 words and get myself past a stuck point, and outlined what happens in the rest of the story. I’ll be hitting this pretty hard this week and next, and if I don’t finish it this month then by golly I will finish it in early May.

How’s your month going?

10 comments on “April Camp NaNo and #WriteMotivation Update – Week 3

  1. LadyJai says:

    *chucks Zombie Cheerleader Dino Cookies at you and waves pompoms in your face*
    YAYAYAYAYYAY! Can you do the Happy Dino Dance?

    Jamie Dement (LadyJai)
    My A to Z
    Caring for My Veteran

  2. SO EXCITED! YAAAAY! CONGRATULATIONS! 😀

    I am hoping to get at least 2 things marked off my list by tomorrow. And hopefully another before this weekend. 🙂

    Good job lady! You can do it!

  3. Paul says:

    Congrats on another successful word count!

  4. uuuhhhh, i think it’s okay that you didn’t make any progress on that last goal since you accomplished such a major one and apparently drank until you passed out. yeesh. that takes talent, right there.

Leave a Reply

