April Camp NaNo and #WriteMotivation Update – Week 1.5

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

First off: While I, personally, am not doing the A to Z Challenge this year (obviously), I am doing it along with the other Ferrets at the RRFS blog.

Here are the posts we’ve written so far for the challenge:

A is for Apostrophe – Me!
Classical British PoetsLissa
Consent and You! Why It’s Important to Think About Consent in Your WritingEris
The Quirky and Captivating Characters of DiscworldSerena
Let’s Talk About Ellipses…Rebekah
F is for Fanfiction – Me
Divine Gaiman – Revelations of a Humble Genius – Lissa
H is for Hangover (From Writing) – Eris

We’ll keep the rotation going all month. My next letter is K. πŸ™‚

On to the updates!

2014-Participant-Vertical-Banner1. Camp NaNo – Finish draft 2 of MGG.
Word count goal: 67,000
Current word count: 42,434

I’m making much faster progress on this goal than I anticipated. The word count is misleading; 67k is roughly how long draft 1 was, and I set it as my goal since I’m trying to edit draft 2 in its entirety before the end of the month, incorporating the paper edits I’ve already made along with the suggestions from my CPs.

Basically, the word count means I’ve completed editing on 15 chapters out of 23. Huzzah!

2. Finish 2013 NaNo novel.
I have written all of 500 words on this, since I’m spending most of my time on goal #1 at the moment. But every word is progress, yes? I will finish this dadgum story, I swear.

Hope everyone else is having a good start to the month so far!

2 comments on “April Camp NaNo and #WriteMotivation Update – Week 1.5

  1. You are killing it with MGG! Go you! πŸ˜€ And the sooner you finish that, the sooner you’ll get back to your 2013 Nano… yes? *bats eyelashes*

    • Michelle says:

      The phrase you do not see after “I will finish this dadgum story, I swear.” was supposed to be “because if I don’t, I’m pretty sure Eris will hunt me down and wear my entrails as a necklace.” πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

