March #WriteMotivation Update – Week 4

We interrupt your regularly scheduled #WriteMotivation update because X-MEN TRAILER!!

Days of Future Past was one of the first X-men stories I ever read, one of these children’s novelizations that were published back in the early ’90s. It was a heartbreaking story, and I hated reading about how many of my favorite characters had died in the future. Even so, it was a good story, and I’ve been really, really excited for this movie ever since I found out they were adapting Days of Future Past.

The trailer scenes between Magneto and Professor X in the future are just killing me. I’ve always enjoyed their dynamic in the movies, and it’s so nice to see something that looks good with Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen after the awfulness that was X-men: The Last Stand.

Anyway, on to the update!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

– Write 10k on NaNo novel.
Stretch goal: Finish it.

Woot! Managed to hit 10k yesterday. Apparently I need to write more fight scenes and characters snarking at each other; they’re great for the word count.

On the upside, I also figured out what happens with the last major plot thread I hadn’t quite ironed out. On the downside, that pretty much requires me to add an extra 3,000 words to the story, which means there ain’t no way this is getting finished in March. OH WELL. We’ll see how far I can get before next week.

– Edit 5 more chapters of MGG.
Stretch goal: Finish paper edits.

I’ve edited three chapters now, woo!

– Write all Ferret A-Z posts.
One’s scheduled, a second is mostly written, and two more are outlined. I need to pick it up on this goal.

– Read 2 books.
I’m 63% of the way through The Lotus Palace, still 15% of the way through The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and have added The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe to my list. THAT ONE’S FOR YOU, JESS.

In case anyone’s interested, April’s sign-up for #WriteMotivation is up now, and there’s still time to sign up for the April session of Camp NaNo.

ONE WEEK LEFT IN MARCH, PEOPLE. LET’S DO THIS THING.

5 comments on “March #WriteMotivation Update – Week 4

  1. Paul says:

    The tail end of the Dark Phoenix Saga and the Days of Future Past were some of the first comics that I ever read, which was a strange (yet oddly fitting) introduction to the world of the Uncanny X-Men. I was very, very young so it was as mindblowing (and probably traumatic :-D). I hope the film is good. It’s still one of my favorite comic stories of all-time, along with all the follow-ups featuring Rachel Summers.

    On an unrelated note, I saw “Grand Budapest Hotel” this past weekend. How you feel about Wes Anderson films will dictate how you feel about “Grand Budapest Hotel”. It exists thoroughly within his unique and insular vision.

  2. You’re doing awesome on your goals. Great job. Less than a week to go, get what you can done and be proud.

  3. LadyJai says:

    No matter if you get it all done or not….LOOK AT WHAT YOU’VE ACCOMPLISHED! YAY YOU!

  4. heathercashman says:

    You’re doing so well! I really like the insight you give to a lot of the movies. And even though it means extra words, you figured it out. I know how much that can frustrate everything!

  5. omg! that was awesome! and you’re probably doing well on your goals, too. if you want me to pay more attention, don’t put awesome trailers on your goal posts. (just kidding, i was pretty much paying attention – squirrel!)

Leave a Reply

