January #WriteMotivation – Week 4

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

And it is my last actual update for January, although I’ll probably have a final one next Monday along with a list of February goals. I haven’t signed up for February #WriteMotivation yet, but that’s only because I haven’t figured out what goals I want to focus on for next month. I’ll be doing that this week.

If you’re interested, sign up here!

1. Finish collecting revisions for TSB.

2. Finish 2013 NaNo novel.
Still working on it, though I haven’t made as much headway on it as I would like, because I dove way more into #3. I don’t think I’ll finish before the end of January, but I do think I can get through the next major scene (in which someone is framed for a murder, ooooo).

3. Print off MGG&OCH and start editing.
Apparently my brain decided two weeks was PLENTY of time to get an entry ready for the OWFI contest. So I spent last week reviewing and editing the first two chapters and writing a synopsis, which is an unwieldy many-headed beast, but at least it’s written.

Next goal: to finish cutting down the synopsis and get this puppy turned in on Friday. Saturday at the latest, since February 1 is the deadline for the contest.

4. Plan out blog through March.
I’m about halfway there! Hooray for editorial calendars!

Thanks to my impulsive “let’s enter a contest” decision, my stretch goals have actually changed! Huzzah!

Stretch goals:
– Edit 5 chapters of MGG&OCH. (edited 2)
– Start rewriting first three chapters of TSB.
– Build up a backlog of blog posts for BNC.
– Finish 2 posts for RRFS.

4 comments on “January #WriteMotivation – Week 4

  1. Can’t believe the month is almost over. Where did it go? I haven’t signed up for February yet either because I wasn’t sure what my goals would be or if I’d have to roll any over.

  2. LadyJai says:

    Progress is progress and you did it like a champ! ❤

  3. heathercashman says:

    Good luck with the OWFI competition! I hope to meet you at the conference. I’ve enjoyed going to it for a few years now and have never been disappointed. You did great this month!

  4. Tyrean says:

    I love your stretch goals section . . . I think I need to make a section like that for February. I hope it’s ok that I’ve only posted once for #writemotivation this month – I’m a bit new at this.

Leave a Reply

