January #WriteMotivation – Week 1

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

It’s Monday! You know what that means: time for a #WriteMotivation update!

I was traveling for most of the end of December, so I slid into January’s #WriteMotivation just under the deadline. Hence the reason I didn’t actually update with my initial goal list. (I also haven’t finished my goal list for 2014 in its entirety. It’s been a weird week.)

So here are my goals for the month, and how they’re going so far:

1. Finish collecting revisions for TSB.
Haven’t started on this one yet, but I’m hoping to make some headway next weekend. (This requires reviewing the story with one of my lovely beta-readers as she verbally gives me her feedback, because she makes her notes in Kindle.)

2. Finish 2013 NaNo novel.
I’ve written probably 2,000 words on this since January 1, finishing up one scene that I’d been stuck on since Christmas (smut is so freaking hard to write) and adding two more. I know I’m well past the midpoint, and I’m hoping I can wrap things up in 30k or less (she said optimistically).

We’ll see how it goes.

3. Print off MGG&OCH and start editing.
When I printed off MG, I knew it was going to be shorter than any other draft I’d ever printed off, being as it was less than 70,000 words. I did not expect it to be only 250 pages long. It felt like I was only holding half a novel. I DIDN’T EVEN GO THROUGH AN ENTIRE REAM OF PAPER.

Novel drafts. MG is so much shorter than I thought it would be.

MG is on the left. TSB draft 3 is on the right, for comparison purposes.

I’m hoping this means editing will go MUCH faster.

4. Plan out blog through March.
Haven’t started on this one yet either, but what I’m hoping to do is schedule out a good idea of what I want to be posting on a regular basis. There are several features I’ve started but haven’t finished, and I’d like to set some deadlines for myself to get those rolling.

I’m also doing something a little different this month in that I’m including stretch goals. If I, by some magical intervention, actually accomplish all of my regular goals, these are the ones I’ll try next, in no particular order.

Stretch goals:
– Edit 5 chapters of MGG&OCH.
– Start rewriting first three chapters of TSB.
– Build up a backlog of blog posts for BNC.
– Finish 2 posts for RRFS.

So that’s it for me! What are you guys up to this month? How’s 2014 treating you so far? Any big, over-arching goals for the year?

16 comments on “January #WriteMotivation – Week 1

  1. I love your comparison picture. And I totally hear you on “Not even a ream of paper, what?!”

    • Michelle says:

      I BOUGHT AN EXTRA PRINTER CARTRIDGE AND TWO ENTIRE REAMS OF PAPER so I could make sure I could print the entire thing off (the first time I printed off TSB I had to go to Walmart in the middle of it to buy an extra printer cartridge and more paper) and then it ended up being 250 pages.

      I just stared at it for like 5 minutes and went “I feel like I’m missing something.”

  2. Does it make me a nerd that in your comparison picture I saw the TARDIS first? πŸ˜‰
    Good luck with your goals. I hope you get to your stretch goals. (Which is a brilliant idea.)

  3. Okay. I really want to steal your stretch goals idea. Seriously, I need stretch goals in my life!

  4. Sonia Lal says:

    I sympathize with writing smut. It’s so much harder than it looks.

    Also, you’re so organized about goals.

    • Michelle says:

      Holy cow, I know right? Fight scenes? Psh. Dialogue? I got this. Descriptions? Not my favorite, but not that difficult, and I can usually clean them up pretty well on the second pass.

      Smut scenes? DAYS OF HAIR-PULLING AGONY.

      And aw, thank you! πŸ™‚

  5. K.T. Hanna says:

    I’m so not a smut writer – I did that in my fan-fiction days. Alllll out of my system lol. I will wish you the best of luck with those.

    As for small drafts… the book I’m currently editing is my first ever MG. And OMFG it’s TINY. It WAS 58k and is now 55k… and it’s just so SMALL…

    Anyhu! Good luck with the rest of the month hon – I know you can do it. And I bet you can get most of those stretch goals too

  6. Cheyenne says:

    Wow, your goals have put mine to shame! I’m so impressed by your organisation and ability to work on so much at once. Good luck and hope you reach those stretch goals! πŸ™‚

  7. tardis! my dad got me a tardis for my birthday this past year. oh, yes and you are doing a great job on those goals, too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

