The Critic’s Final 2013 Goal Review

Now that we’re about to bid good-bye to 2013, it’s time to look at the goals I set back in January and see how I did.

And much to my surprise, I’m actually pleased with how I’ve done over the past year.

Physical
Work out at least twice a week for 30 minutes apiece.
I started working out with my roommates in January and kept it up throughout the entire year, usually working out 5-6 times a week for probably an hour to 45 minutes on average. I didn’t lose a lot of weight, but I developed a lot more muscle definition in my arms and legs and increased my balance and flexibility past what they’ve ever been before in my life.

I also learned that I apparently really like yoga and resistance training (weight lifting). Who knew?

Drink at least six glasses of water per day.
I may not have hit this every day, but I got damn close. Telling myself stuff like “No more tea until you’ve had at least 3 glasses of water” really helped me with this one.

Writing
Finish draft 4 of my ’06 NaNo for CPs.
Completed in January.

Finish a first draft for at least two of the three projects I want to complete (my NaNo novels from 2012, 2011, and 2008).
Finished the draft of my NaNo 2012 novel in April, didn’t get a chance to work on the others.

Attend the OWFI conference in May and the OCW conference in October.
I had a great time at the OWFI conference, but I decided against attending the OCW conference this year.

Pick two of the pictures in my “holy cow I want to write a story about this” folder. Write at least a short story for each one.
I ended up writing a 68k novel for one of them, which was completed in September.

Set up a Facebook page for my writing.
Nope.

Blogging
Review at least one new movie each month. Except for months where the idea of actually giving money to a movie in the theater makes me sick to my stomach.
Well, I got about 50% of the way through this goal: I reviewed 6 movies I saw in theaters. And even though I have two more reviews for movies currently playing, they won’t be posted in 2013.

Keep to a posting schedule of twice a week.
I ultimately published 118 blog posts this year (119 with this one), which puts me at an average of slightly more than 2 per week.

Comment more regularly on the blogs I follow.
I did better with this at the beginning of the year, but kind of fell off in the latter half.

Career
Attend another CSS summit.
I attended three summits in 2013: for responsive web design, user experience, and WordPress.

Up my coding game in PHP, MySQL, and JavaScript.
Which I’ve certainly done, thanks to the above summits and my own forays throughout the web.

Intellectual
Read 70 new books in 2013.
Well, I made it to 48 51 books this year, according to Goodreads. Given the amount of writing I did, it’s not terribly surprising my reading fell by the wayside.

Read all the unread books currently on my shelf/Kindle. (Or at least, attempt to.)
Hahahahaha, yeah no.

Read at least three non-writing-related non-fiction books.
I got one read.

Take more books off my gigantic TBR list than I add to it. (Borrowed from Marissa Meyer.)
I don’t think I did this, although I did add to it at a slightly slower pace than I did last year.

So what did I learn about myself from this year’s goals?

1) Altering the way I phrased some of the goals (specifically the health ones) really helped me to accomplish those. My actual goal was never “lose X amount of weight,” my goal was “develop good habits so that I am more healthy overall.” Which I’ve done.
2) Apparently I can, in fact, complete multiple writing projects in a given year.
3) Overall, I did better at accomplishing my goals in 2013 than I did in 2012, I think. So that tells me a couple of things: one, that this method is working for me, and two, that my revisions based on what I accomplished last year were a good idea.

And that’s all she wrote for 2013. Hope you all have a very happy New Year, and we’ll see you in 2014!!

4 comments on “The Critic’s Final 2013 Goal Review

  1. AlisonStanley says:

    Congratulations. Very inspiring!

  2. I am very proud of you for all the incredible things you accomplished this year, and I know you will only continue to do greater things in the year(s) to come!

Leave a Reply

