NaNoWriMo 2013 – Final Update

Another year, another NaNoWriMo down the pipe. A part of me still can’t quite believe it’s December now. Of course, that was not the part of me that slept in until 11 a.m. on Sunday because I finally could.

(Well, slept in between bouts of my yowling cat waking me up at God-forsaken hours of the morning.)

2013-Winner-Facebook-Cover

The last week of November was a whirlwind, as you might expect, between three final write-ins, traveling for the holidays, and hanging out with family. Wednesday was the only day all MONTH that I didn’t write at least a little bit, because between work and travel and family, I didn’t even sit down at my computer to write until 12:30 in the morning, when it was already Thursday.

Like last year, we had a Last Chance Write-in on Saturday night. Unlike last year, we did it at a local coffee shop that’s open till 2 a.m. on Saturdays, which ended up being a LOT of fun. The whole coffee shop is book-themed, and we got to reserve their private library room for our group. So: food, beverages, beverages with alcohol, and books? It was a good time overall.

We also got to introduce NaNoWriMo to some new people who wandered into the room while we were there, which was a lot of fun as well. At midnight, once November was officially over, we celebrated with chocolate fondue, courtesy one of our WriMos. So we ended NaNo as we began it: on a sugar high, way too late at night. 🙂

I finished the month with just over 60k and a story that’s, as usual, still not done. I will not even attempt to guesstimate how much I have left to write, but hopefully I’ll be able to crank out whatever’s left before the end of the year.

Which is in one month, apparently.

As always, I’m alternately sad and relieved to see November in the rearview mirror. It’s a relief to have everything done, to know I’ve got a several-month break before we need to start planning for 2014. But at the same time, it’s sad that I won’t be seeing everybody every week (sometimes twice a week), because every year I meet awesome new people.

Writing is such a solitary pursuit that it’s nice to have times when we all get together and do it in a group, to joke with and encourage each other. It’s amazing, and that’s one of my favorite parts of the year.

NaNoWriMo 2013 By the Numbers

Novel Stuff
Final official word count: 60,068/50,000
Most words written in a day: 4,617
Fewest words written in a day: 0
Number of pages in MS Word: 106 (Times New Roman, 12 pt., single-spaced)
Number of characters (with spaces): 333,542 (the equivalent of almost 2,383 tweets)
Number of paragraphs: 1,990
Number of scenes, since the story isn’t broken into chapters yet: 39
Number of viewpoints: 3
Number of fight scenes I’ve written: 2
Number of sex scenes I’ve written: 3
Number of author’s notes: 11
Number of author’s notes pointing out where I’d contradicted myself in the story: 3

Write-in Stuff
Number of hours spent at write-ins: 48.5
Average write-in attendance: 13
Highest number of attendees at a write-in: 27
Lowest number of attendees at a write-in: 7
Number of popsicle sticks that fell off the graveyard: 6
Number of characters I put in the graveyard: 0 (No one is more shocked about this than I am, guys, seriously.)
Number of charger cables left behind: 2
Number of headphones left behind: 1

Regional Stuff
Number of members: 1,670
Number of homed participants (people who claim Tulsa as home): 1,342
Number of active participants (homed participants that wrote this year): 345
Number of winners: 77 (22.3%!)
Number of words we wrote as a region: 6,646,907
Average word count: 19,266

4 comments on “NaNoWriMo 2013 – Final Update

  1. Paul says:

    Those participation stats are impressive! Congratulations on your own achievements, of course, but especially your work as ML!

  2. I always adore reading your by-the-numbers post for NaNo each year. Sorry I’m behind in reading it this year! Congrats on everything you accomplished!!

Leave a Reply

