NaNoWriMo and #WriteMotivation – Week 4

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

So apparently November is almost over. And as with every year, I really can’t believe it’s gone by so fast.

We’ve got a few more write-ins coming up this week to help everybody get their word count over the Thanksgiving holidays, but by the end of next weekend, it’ll officially be December.

And now, for the goal updates:

1. Write at least 50,000 words in November.

Minimum word count for November 25: 41,666/50,000

My word count: 51,307/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: I broke 50,000 words! I was trying my best to cross the 50k mark before all my Thanksgiving travel plans, and I did so Sunday morning, about an hour before I had to go to have Thanksgiving with my dad’s family. 🙂

I’m either right at the halfway point for the story or right beyond it, which is encouraging. We’ll see how much further I can get through this by Saturday! (Because November ends on Saturday, WTF.)

And I also realized, while talking to my brother this weekend, that this is the first time I’ve hit 50,000 words and haven’t had at least one fight scene, nor a single on-screen death. This whole romance-is-the-main-plot thing is WEIRD.

On the plus side, my next scene should get some action in. (FINALLY. Wonder if I can kill off a named character then?)

2. Stay sane throughout the entire month.
Oddly, this month has, overall, been a little less stressful for me, at least on the NaNo front. I haven’t felt as much worry with what’s going on with my story (perhaps because I planned the hell out of it beforehand), though I have still been running around with my ML-related duties.

In fact, my roommate even mentioned that I seemed less stressed this NaNo than in previous ones, which was nice to hear. (Poor guy’s had to put up with me doing NaNo every year we’ve lived together.)

This is my last #writemotivation update, but next week I’ll have my annual NaNo by the numbers post!

So how’s your November going? Ready to kick it into gear for the last week?

Leave a Reply

