NaNoWriMo and #WriteMotivation – Week 1

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

All right, time for my first update of the month! A little late this week, but I’ll be on time the rest of the month, I promise. šŸ™‚

1. Write at least 50,000 words in November.

Minimum word count for November 7: 11,669/50,000

My word count: 12,129/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: This week has been a whirlwind, to say the least. The first week of NaNo usually is, but this one even more so, because for the first time since 2010, we had an in-person midnight kickoff at IHOP!

I have really, really missed the midnight kickoffs, so I was thrilled that November 1 fell on a Friday and we could swing a midnight kickoff this year. We had around 30 people show up over the course of the night: some in costume, some just ready to write, some familiar faces, and many, many newbies. It was a lot of fun.

We ended up staying at IHOP until 2:30 a.m., which meant it was 3:30 by the time I finally fell into bed. Fortunately, I had been telling my boss I’d be out Friday morning for weeks, so I didn’t have to get up for work until about 10:30 the next morning.

Of course, it was also during the cold light of day that I realized the place where I’d started my story the night before? Wasn’t going to work. So, I “scrapped” the 1100 words I’d written and started over with a new scene that I like much, much better. (Now, when I say “scrapped,” I mean that I just turned the old intro white so I couldn’t see it and started over. Those words still count! :-))

Saturday was our first “official” write-in, which had a fairly good turn-out, including some other new faces who hadn’t been able to make it to the kickoff. We got to do our first Boxes of Doom and add the first characters to the graveyard, so it really feels like NaNo is in full swing now.

Because clearly I wasn’t doing enough last week, Saturday night I went to the ballet with Rebekah and Serena. We saw A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and it was beautiful. It was also in the theater that I realized while I have been in ballets before (I took dance for about 9 years), I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen one in person, or if I have, it was so long ago that I don’t remember.

Anyway, I had a really great time, and now I’m going to see if I can get tickets for the Nutcracker in December!

Overall, the writing’s been going well. I have run into several places that I’m having to go back and change/flesh out in order to move forward, but that’s all right…just more words, right? šŸ˜‰

2. Stay sane throughout the entire month.
Well, I thought this would be a snap…and then this an actual conversation I had on Tuesday at our write-in:

A WriMo’s kid: “You’re crazy!”
Me: “You should see me at the end of the month.”

Sounds like I’m already cracking up?

How’s NaNo/November going for you guys?

Pictures are thanks to the lovely Rebekah!

9 comments on “NaNoWriMo and #WriteMotivation – Week 1

  1. Cheyenne says:

    Wow, I’ve yet to attend a NaNo event of any kind, but you’ve sold me on it! Next year, I’m finding one šŸ™‚ And the ballet! FUN šŸ™‚ Would love to see the Nutcracker sometime. (I took adult ballet at 25 and it was hideously embarrassing, but good one šŸ˜‰

    • Michelle says:

      You should give it a go! I didn’t attend any for the first 2 years I was in NaNo, but I was surprised at how much fun I had once I started going. My very first event was (coincidentally) the midnight kickoff in 2009. šŸ™‚

      And yay for ballet! Where did you take adult ballet? I didn’t even realize that was a thing. I haven’t taken a dance class since I was 12…

  2. Cheyenne says:

    Fun! It was good fun. *sigh* I should go eat dinner šŸ˜‰

  3. Good luck with your goals – especially number 2. šŸ˜‰

  4. ack! i spotted myself in one of the pics. proof of my dedication, right?i agree with the kid, i think i’m cracking up already, too. i pray for my family. they’ll need help surviving the end of nano. on another note, i took my daughter to see the nutcracker a few years ago. so much fun.

    • Michelle says:

      Yes, now we have photographic evidence of your dedication to the NaNo cause. šŸ™‚ And it’s okay, you’re ALLOWED to go a little crazy in November. šŸ˜‰

      And I’ve heard really good things about the Nutcracker here, so I really want to see it if I can swing it.

  5. K.T. Hanna says:

    It looks like so much fun! I wish I could come and take part in it. However, with you and Rebekah recounting it for me, I almost feel like I was there. Great to see you on target – I wish you the best of luck with the rest of the month.
    Although – I think sanity is overrated šŸ˜‰

    • Michelle says:

      *hugs* Wish you could come, too! It’s been a blast, and it would be great to get to see you again. šŸ™‚

      So far it seems like I’m managing to keep up with the word count and, true to form, making the story far, far longer than it needs to be. I’m almost 30,000 words into a story about an arranged marriage and said marriage STILL HASN’T HAPPENED. *shakes head at self*

      And yes. Sanity. Meh. Maybe it’s okay if I fail at #2 this month? šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

