Book Review: His Bride By Design by Teresa Hill

Earlier this year, my grandmother started giving me books. And by that, I don’t mean the occasional bag of half a dozen paperbacks; I mean thirteen grocery sacks of books at a time. It’s a wonder my roommates haven’t killed me yet for having random sacks of books strewn about the house.

Because of this, I’ve acquired a number of books I wouldn’t normally pick up on my own, including enough Harlequin category romances to supply my own used bookstore. I know a lot of people tend to stick up their noses at Harlequin, but I’ve found some gems there before, and I love romance anyway. So I was kind of excited at my haul.

Alas, the first book I picked up to read, His Bride by Design, wasn’t really worth it. It was a disappointment, because I had recently read a couple of fake-relationship stories that I really enjoyed, and I was looking forward to finding another one.

bride-by-designSynopsis from the back of the book:

Wedding-dress designer Chloe Allen had it all—her first celebrity client, a debut New York fashion show, even a happy engagement…her third, but who was counting? Then a catwalk catfight revealed her fiance’s cheating ways, and the media had a field day. To be painted as unlucky in love was a curse in her profession.

As brides-to-be rioted to return their Chloe originals, Fiance No. 2 rode to her rescue. Financier James Elliot IV couldn’t let her—or his secret investment in her business—suffer. They would play up a reunion romance for the cameras and get Chloe back on track. He had it all sewn up—but would their tabloid tableau vivant turn into the real deal?

Now, if you’re guessing that Chloe’s man was cheating on her with a model, you would be correct. What you might not guess is that he was cheating on her with a male model, which was a giggle-worthy twist since Chloe was kind of slow on the uptake.

What bothered me was how it was handled afterward. A blog (in the book) said “It’s the other men modern-day brides have to worry about,” which made me raise my eyebrows, as guys sleeping with other guys is not exactly a modern development.

On top of that, other brides actually were terrified their grooms were sleeping with their groomsmen, which also had me rolling my eyes. While I can kind of understand the superstitious aspect of it, this seemed like a weirdly specific fear that I just couldn’t suspend my disbelief enough for.

Then this conversation happened, after James found out someone’s put the video of Chloe finding out about her cheating boyfriend on YouTube:

“People are online watching a video of the brawl at Chloe’s show?”

“More than a hundred thousand people so far,” Marcy said.

James grimaced. “Someone’s keeping a count?”

“Of course. At the rate the video’s being downloaded, it could go viral at any time.”

A hundred thousand views in less than two days? I hate to break it to you, but that video’s not “about” to go viral; it has gone viral. Also, most people don’t actually download videos from YouTube. There’s no built-in functionality for that. And considering every YouTube video ever uploaded has its number of views just beneath it, “keeping a count” isn’t exactly difficult.

This kind of stuff frustrates the hell out of me. I don’t expect everyone to know the difference between HTML and CSS, but if you’re supposedly Internet-savvy, as Marcy is, I would hope you know how YOUTUBE WORKS.

However, even I can admit inaccuracies like that are usually minor issues in a story, and if the rest of it is good enough, I can forgive them. In this case, the rest of the story really wasn’t good enough to outweigh these mistakes.

I couldn’t get behind Chloe as a heroine. I liked her initially, but she was just so…wimpy after everything went down. She was so dependent on her assistants and then on James to do anything, it seemed.

I didn’t buy her as a woman who owned her own (successful) business. She didn’t even have any kind of plan for dealing with the fallout. Then, when James offered her a way to mitigate the problem, she burst into tears at the thought of doing it. She didn’t come across as strong enough to do what needed to be done to save what she cared about.

Then, they were kissing only thirty pages in. Which just never, ever works for me. Part of the fun of the romance is the journey in getting the characters from “Hello” or “I hate you” to “I want to spend the rest of my life with you.” After thirty pages, I’ve barely gotten a chance to know these characters; I’m not even rooting for them to get together yet. It’s like everything’s happening way too quickly.

I was excited for a reconciliation romance on top of a fake relationship, but after about the first four pages of the book, it just kind of meandered downhill. It didn’t dive straight into crazy-terrible, which might have been entertaining in and of itself for the WTF level, but just kind of settled at “not good enough for me to justify continuing to read.”

Between the heroine I didn’t like, the mediocre writing, and the Internet-related inaccuracies, I just didn’t care enough to finish the book.

One comment on “Book Review: His Bride By Design by Teresa Hill

  1. […] Fiction: Endymion by Dan Simmons Long Lost by David Morrell If on a winter’s night a traveler by Italo Calvino The Silver Pigs by Lindsey Davis Shadows in Bronze by Lindsey Davis The Course of Honor by Lindsey Davis Young Men in Spats by P.G. Wodehouse I, Robot by Isaac Asimov Old Man’s War by John Scalzi Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi Kushiel’s Avatar by Jacqueline Carey Kushiel’s Chosen by Jacqueline Carey Shada by Douglas Adams The Street Lawyer by John Grisham The Honor of Spies by W.E.B. Griffin Foreign Influence by Brad Thor True Blue by David Baldacci The Passage by Justin Cronin Komarr by Lois McMaster Bujold A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld Brave New World by Aldous Huxley Gone by Michael Grant The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson The Ancient by R.A. Salvatore The Demon Awakens by R.A. Salvatore The Demon Spirit by R.A. Salvatore The Demon Apostle by R.A. Salvatore The Wind Merchant by Ryan Dunlap Triple Play by Abigail Barnette Long Relief by Abigail Barnette Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger Curtsies & Conspiracies by Gail Carriger Winterblaze by Kristen Callihan The Strange Case of Finley Jayne/The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha Lamb by Christopher Moore Exclusively Yours by Shannon Stacey Yours to Keep by Shannon Stacey Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett Mort by Terry Pratchett Men-at-Arms by Terry Pratchett Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett Jingo by Terry Pratchett Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan The Heiress Effect by Courtney Milan Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden The Marrying Kind by Ken O’Neill Seraphina by Rachel Hartman The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress Mine to Possess by Nalini Singh Hostage to Pleasure by Nalini Singh His Bride by Design by Teresa Hill […]

Leave a Reply

