New Hobbit Trailer, Night Vale, and NaNoWriMo

Okay, so I might be speaking in all caps for just a little while today, because it’s October 1, and October 1 means a few things:

1) A new trailer for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug!

Just…just watch it. Holy cow.

Why yes, I am nearly incoherent with fangirl glee. WHYEVER DO YOU ASK.

2) New Welcome to Night Vale episode!

So back in July, Eris started listening to this podcast called “Welcome to Night Vale,” and then could not stop talking about how much she loved it. So of course, I had to try it. (This is pretty much exactly the same reason I started watching Teen Wolf, and that show has taken over my brain and refuses to let it go.)

It’s a 20-25 minute podcast that’s, basically, a local news report from what has to be the strangest town in America, and it’s awesome. To quote the website:

WELCOME TO NIGHT VALE is a twice-monthly podcast in the style of community updates for the small desert town of Night Vale, featuring local weather, news, announcements from the Sheriff’s Secret Police, mysterious lights in the night sky, dark hooded figures with unknowable powers, and cultural events.

Turn on your radio and hide.

And don’t forget to stay away from the dog park.

New episodes are released on the first and the fifteenth of each month. Go listen to it. Now now now!

3) Just like winter, NaNoWriMo is coming.

As an ML for the Tulsa region (along with my lovely partner-in-crime, Rebekah), I’ve been working on this for the past couple of weeks. But October 1 is always a special day, because it’s (usually) the official relaunch of the website and the actual start of what I call “NaNo season.”

If you’re new here, National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short) is an event where writers around the world sit down and bang out a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. Or a script. Or a fanfic. Really, it’s up to you.

It’s about taking that vague promise to yourself–“One day, I’ll write a novel”–and putting the start date at November 1, along with more than 300,000 people around the world. It’s about giving yourself accountability and finding a community to cheer you on.

It’s not easy, but then again, nothing worth doing ever is.

It is a lot of fun, and I can’t tell you how many people I’ve seen start the month with the mindset of “I don’t think I can hit 50,000 words, but I’m going to try!” and then end the month with “HOLY CRAP, I DID IT!”

NaNo gives you an opportunity to amaze yourself.

If that sounds like your thing, go ahead and sign up for this year!

I’ve got my shiny ML badge in my sidebar (whee!), and if you click on the image, it’ll take you to my participant page. You can add me as a buddy!

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go chain-listen to The Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack for the next 31 days. 😀

One comment on “New Hobbit Trailer, Night Vale, and NaNoWriMo

  1. Paul says:

    Incidentally, my own opinion on the trailer: hoping for less cartoonish action and while I don’t mind them crafting an elven romance out of thin air, I do mind that it seems evocative of the Aragorn/Arwen romance.

Leave a Reply

