2013: The Year of Finishing Drafts

In January, I finished the fourth draft of my 2006 NaNo novel, TSB.

In April, I finished the first draft of my 2012 NaNo novel, TIAD.

And last Tuesday, I finished the first draft of the urban fantasy I started back in May, which now has a tentative title of Murderous Girlfriends, Grimoires, and Other College Hazards.

After deleting a bunch of extraneous stuff (notes to myself, scenes I ended up taking in a different direction), my final word count came to 67,813, making it the shortest first draft I’ve written since I was 15 years old.

Beer!

Celebrate good times come on!

Right now I’m taking a short break from fiction writing, by which I mean I’ve been reading a lot, watching movies, and outlining some blog posts. Hoping to have some more reviews (and some other things for you) up soon.

In other writing-related news, I have a post up on the Fictional Ferrets blog today, talking about my writing strengths and weaknesses. Come for the structure talk, stay to see how badly I handle secondary characters.

And now, a final excerpt for you:

Mick elbowed me hard in the side. I yelped. “The hell was that for?’

“Oh my God,” she mouthed. “Go ask him out!”

Heat raced up my face, and I shook my head. “I can’t.”

Mick pressed her fingers to the bridge of her nose. “Seriously? Seriously? Your last date ended like that.” She flung her arm out to encompass the dark hulk of the library behind us. “At the absolute worst, he’s going to say no thanks. You don’t even end up with a broken arm! This is a step up!”

How’s September treating you? Read any good books/seen any good movies lately? Anything I should add to my list?

Beer picture by Bernt Rostad

5 comments on “2013: The Year of Finishing Drafts

  1. HURRAH for finishing! (And wow, so much finishing this year too!)

    I have concluded that 2013 is the year of editing for me >_<.

  2. wow! three in one year? damn! that is definitely something to celebrate…with a few drafts.

  3. […] Pick two of the pictures in my “holy cow I want to write a story about this” folder. Write at least a short story for each one. I ended up writing a 68k novel for one of them, which was completed in September. […]

Leave a Reply

