News, Trailers, and Where Did August Go?

So, what’s been going on in the entertainment world since we found out who the new Doctor will be?

GLAD YOU ASKED.

Ben Affleck is Batman.
Yup, it was officially announced late last week that Affleck would be donning Batman’s cowl in the next Man of Steel movie. And, as you might expect, the Internet kind of exploded in all sorts of “oh blah he’ll be terrible” and “does nobody remember Daredevil?” and “WORST CASTING EVER.”

So basically, it was almost the exact repeat of what happened when Heath Ledger was cast as the Joker, and you guys remember how that turned out, right?

Heath Ledger as The Joker in The Dark Knight

Yes, let’s all have a round of applause…

I personally would be more excited if they’d announced Affleck was directing the movie (by all accounts, he’s a fantastic director), but I’m going to withhold judgement until a trailer hits and we actually get to SEE him as Batman. Until then, color me cautiously optimistic.

New Thor trailer.

So…normally I don’t do movies in November, but yeah, I’ll be making an exception for this one.

I am looking forward to the Maze Runner movie…
…solely because of this interview with author James Dashner. Here’s what he said when they asked him about the most important factor of making a successful book-to-movie adaptation:

I think to be careful of trying to be literal. A great example is the Harry Potter movies. I am a huge Harry Potter fan, I love the books. The first two movies, I felt were very literal to the book. It was like going through a checklist while I watched the movies, and it bored me to tears.

Then with the third movie, they thought “Well we can’t do that anymore, the books are getting huge,” so instead of trying to be literal they tried to transform the book into a cinematic experience.

It is what Peter Jackson did with The Lord of the Rings, and I think that is the key, to stay away from literal translation, and more about capturing the vision and spirit of the plot and characters.

Yes. Those are my thoughts. Exactly. I WANT TO BE MOVIE BROS WITH THIS MAN.

(I might also have already been looking forward to The Maze Runner for, um, other reasons…but this just makes me excited that it might actually be good.)

Teen Wolf season 3a ended, and here is what I learned:

– Scott is best when he’s being hero-Scott.
– Allison is a badass (or a BAMF, if that is your preferred terminology).
– The (platonic) relationship between Lydia and Stiles was my favorite out of the entire season.
– GO TEAM HUMAN.
– The UST between Derek and Stiles could power a small city.
– Isaac is the spiritual successor to Jack Harkness, and it is HILARIOUS.
– Sheriff Stilinski + Mama McCall 4-ever.
– Jeff Davis can’t math.
– Slow motion was used effectively precisely once out of the 1,000 times it appeared in 12 episodes.
– The writers have Attention Deficit Ooh Shiny and only the loosest grasp of consistency, continuity, and character motivation.
– It’s easy to call the hidden villain when you realize it’s the only way to make that character interesting.
– Flashbacks are the most aggravating narrative tool EVER and you SHOULD FEEL BAD FOR USING THEM IN TWO EPISODES. BAD WRITERS NO COOKIE.
– Peter attended the same community theater class for Overly Dramatic Villain Monologuing that both Gerard and Deucalion did.
– Stiles is my favorite forever.

Dylan O'Brien as Stiles Stilinski from Teen Wolf

For so very many reasons.

How has your August been, friends?

2 comments on “News, Trailers, and Where Did August Go?

  1. I’m excited for the new Thor movie and glad to see a new trailer released. I was getting tired of seeing that one over and over.

Leave a Reply

