And the new Doctor is…

The BBC announced on Sunday that Peter Capaldi will take over the TARDIS when Matt Smith leaves at the end of this year.

Peter Capaldi

Ladies and gentlemen, your new Doctor.

I’m actually kind of excited. I mean, I was hoping that they would go with someone either not white or not male to shake things up, but I knew it was a long shot.

Capaldi’s been on the show before (in the episode “The Fires of Pompeii”) and by all accounts he’s a terrific actor. That episode would be the only thing I’ve seen him in, so I can’t really comment on that.

I will miss Matt Smith. Even though it took me most of the first episode to get used to him, I have ultimately really enjoyed his take on the Doctor, especially since he drew a lot on Patrick Troughton’s portrayal (and I love the Second Doctor with SOOOO much of my geeky heart). However, as always, I’m intrigued to see what a new actor will do with the role.

Naturally, some fans are displeased (because there are always a few who whine about the changing of the guard; that’s part of being a fan, right?), even going so far as to say that Capaldi is “too old” for the part.

William Hartnel, Doctor #1

The First Doctor frowns on your shenanigans.

Which…um…

Patrick Troughton (the Second Doctor)

The Second Doctor is not amused.

Have you seen this show?

Jon Pertwee (Third Doctor)

The Third Doctor would like you to reconsider your statements.

If you’re saying he’s “too old,” CLEARLY you are unfamiliar with the nearly-50-year history of this show. And since Capaldi is the same age as William Hartnell (the First Doctor) was when he was cast, it seems fitting in a way, a little like they’re making full circle for the 50th anniversary this year.

So yeah. I’m looking forward to seeing what the new Doctor will bring to the table.

How do you feel about the new Doctor? Excited? Disappointed? Ambivalent? Wondering what the hell I’m talking about? (If it’s the latter, here’s your primer. Now get thee to Netflix and watch!)

4 comments on “And the new Doctor is…

  1. I’m excited for the new Doctor. It’s a little scary, but I can’t wait to see how this new Doctor is. (Also expecting a not a ginger joke because Ten started that and there’s no stopping now! lol)

  2. i’ve grown fond of matt smith like a cute fungus with bizarre eyebrows – seriously, does no one else see it? so i’ll miss him, not as much as tennant, never that much. i’m also excited to see this new direction. tom baker was my first doctor, so i have no problem with an older regeneration of the doctor.

Leave a Reply

