July #Writemotivation – Second Update Ahoy!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

This week was not quite as productive as last week…or well, it was (kind of), but just on different goals.

I wrote about 2,000 words that, sadly, I can’t count toward my Camp NaNo goal because they’re outside the timeline of the novel. Kind of frustrating, but I am trying to make myself focus on actually finishing the draft and not hopping around writing whatever scenes flit through my head.

And I didn’t get quite as much writing time in this weekend as I would have liked because my brother graduated paramedic training on Saturday! I’m so very proud of him, and it was totally worth the four-hour round-trip drive to see him graduate.

(Okay, so I also got to make silly faces at my niece as well. It was a bonus, all right?)

On to the goal updates!

Mmm, s'mores and writing.

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

1) Camp NaNo! Write 30,000 words on the urban fantasy.
Word count goal for July 15: 14,516/30,000

My official word count: 12,500/30,000

Your unedited excerpt:

Something sparked out of the corner of my eye, and heat seared the side of my face. Instinctively, I squeezed my eyes shut.

“He was with us when we left,” George insisted.

Son of a bitch. I knew George was a fire mage, but I’d never known him to actually use it against somebody. “So he left with you and then came back here on his own?” I pushed, because apparently I don’t have any idea when to shut up. “Without telling his partner?”

“He was with us,” George repeated, his voice thick, and the heat at the side of my face increased with each word. “He was with us.”

Oh God, my face was going to get burned off. And what was worse? Nobody around here seemed willing to stop it.

Suddenly, the heat ceased, and the pressure on my chest lifted somewhat. Tentatively, I opened my eyes.

Devan was standing there, hand resting on George’s shoulder. Well, resting until you noticed that his fingernails had extended into claws that bit into the white fabric of the Retriever’s robe.

“I really think you should let him go,” Devan said smoothly.

2) Complete upcoming posts for RRFS blog.
One is in the editing queue (having a friend look over it), the other is nearly ready for editing!

3) Read at least 2 books.

4) Post to the BNC blog at least twice a week.
Woohoo, three updates for last week!

How are you guys doing with your goals? Still keeping on track for the month? If you’re doing Camp NaNoWriMo, how’s your word count?

8 comments on “July #Writemotivation – Second Update Ahoy!

  1. That’s wonderful for your brother! Glad you got to see him graduate! YAY!
    And there’s still time in July to catch up. No sense beating yourself with a wet noodle if you can’t meet the goals. But hey, you made progress. and Dino LOVES progress!!

    • Michelle says:

      Yes, I am so proud of him, and I know he and his wife are grateful it’s over if only so he finally has something resembling a normal schedule again.

      Still, there’s a part of me that hasn’t quite grasped that my baby brother–with whom I used to reenact fight scenes from Mortal Kombat–is now responsible for saving people’s lives.

      And haha, yes, I’m definitely harder on myself than anybody else when it comes to goals. But you’re right–progress is progress! Thank you for the encouraging words!

  2. Congrats to your brother!
    Looks like you’re managing your goals pretty well. A little progress is better than none! Celebrate what you’ve accomplished. =)

    • Michelle says:

      Thank you! And yes, I shall celebrate. (Of course, one of my favorite authors just released a new book today, which may well wreck my productivity for the rest of the week…eep?)

  3. No, Michelle, making faces at your niece does not count for anything :P.

    Just kidding, of course. Congrats to your brother, I know he’s worked hard for that!

    I… should probably look at the RRFS folder again, shouldn’t I? *cringe*

  4. I’m not biased and I still think you’re kicking ass 😀 YES I DO. And I AM RIGHT ❤

Leave a Reply

