June #WriteMotivation Wrap-Up and July #WriteMotivation Goals

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1) Write 30k on the urban fantasy story. (And really, I should think up a title while I’m at it…)
Well, ultimately, I wrote 34,208 words on the story this month. And close to 15,000 of that was in stories that take place outside the timeline of the novel. A problem, I has it.

An unedited excerpt:

“Before you run off, we should exchange phone numbers.” At Devan’s look, I clarified, “So we can keep in touch. You know, if you’re going to be on the opposite side of the lake.”

He still looked puzzled. “Just yell if you need me. I can hear you.”

This is going to help find the book. Don’t strangle him. I raked a hand through my hair. “Yeah, well, we can’t hear you, genius.” I pointed at Mick and me. “Melusine and human, remember? Super-special wolf hearing isn’t exactly part of the package.”

The puzzled frown remained for a half-second longer, and then melted into exasperation. “Seriously?”

When the hell was the last time this guy had been around someone who wasn’t a werewolf? I tried to stamp out my own exasperation and dug my phone out of my pocket. “Look, dude, just give me your number.”

Devan narrowed his eyes and grabbed my phone. “What, I don’t even get dinner first?”

2) Read at least 4 books.
Now I’m halfway through three books instead of just two! 😀 Though I need to finish these soon, because I’m pretty sure I have to clear out my reading queue for The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe. Otherwise Jess will beat me with her Narnia boxed set.

3) Revise first 3 chapters of TSB.
Same place it was all month. Maybe I should just acknowledge I’m a one-WIP-at-a-time kind of gal?

4) Post 2-3 times/week on the blog.

5) Finish crits on Cloudy for Eris. (NEW)

July #WriteMotivation Goals

Mmm, s'mores and writing.

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

1) Camp NaNo! Write 30,000 words on the urban fantasy.
I’m handicapping myself on this. If I write anything outside of the book’s timeline, it doesn’t count toward my word count goal. As you noticed above, that would kill quite a bit of the word count.

There’s a part of my brain that’s whimpering about this.

2) Complete upcoming posts for RRFS blog.
3) Read at least 2 books.
4) Post to the BNC blog at least twice a week.

Onward and upward, through July! And good luck to everybody participating in #WriteMotivation and Camp NaNo!

4 comments on “June #WriteMotivation Wrap-Up and July #WriteMotivation Goals

  1. *laughs* I love your excerpt! 🙂 Devan is so adorably confused.

    And, um, depending on your reason for delaying The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, Jess might have help. 😉 (Although I would have to reread the books again before I would feel it was appropriate for me to help. . .)

    • Michelle says:

      Thank you! I love Devan. Some of the extraneous stuff I’ve written is from his point of view. He’s learning to deal with non-pack people, bless his little pea-pickin’ heart.

      And the deal this year was that if Jess read draft 4 of TSB (since she is the only person who has read drafts 1-3 as well), I would read TLTWTW. She suspects she will finish her crit this week, so I am trying to finish some of the books I’ve already started before jumping into a new one. 🙂

  2. that last line of the excerpt was hysterical. and i could so relate to your reading goal. i read it out loud to my daughter and she said, “that sounds like you.” except for the being beaten with the boxed set of Narnia books – I have my own set, well worn and loved, too cherished to whack someone with. good luck with your heavy load of goals. and camp nano – yay!

    • Michelle says:

      Hahaha, glad you liked it. 🙂 And normally I’m good about actually finishing books. I don’t know what’s up with me this month. OH WELL. Solidarity, sister! *fistbump*

Leave a Reply

