June #WriteMotivation – Week 4 Update

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

So while this is technically my last Monday for a June #WriteMotivation update, I’ll probably have a final one up next week because, you know, there’s an entire week left of June still and I might actually accomplish something!

Especially since last week’s “Oh hey you’re going to work until 11 p.m. every night trying to make a deadline” adventure is OVER.

On the plus side, I spent this weekend with my family, which meant hanging out with my dad and brother for a belated Father’s Day (because yes, my baby brother is a dad now HOLY HELL WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN). I also got to make lots of kissy-faces at my niece, and actually got her to stop crying at one point by humming “Smoke on the Water,” an idea I got from a Supernatural .gif. I CAN’T BELIEVE IT WORKED.

Surprisingly effective method of getting babies to quit crying.

Why yes, I’m going to take babysitting tips from Dean Winchester. Because I can.

Next time, I’m going to try “Bohemian Rhapsody.”

On to goal updates!

1) Write 30k on the urban fantasy story. (And really, I should think up a title while I’m at it…)
Still no title, but I did break 24k on the main story this week and wrote almost 4,000 words of another scene. So counting all the non-main-story stuff I’ve written in this world, I think I passed 30k this weekend. Huzzah!

Excerpt!

“I can get you season tickets to the OU football games,” I said.

He scoffed. “I don’t want your shitty student section tickets.”

“Not student section. Fifty yard line. Right behind the home team.” I considered how much Tony and Darius owed me, and added, “I may even be able to swing two or three.”

Devan raised his eyes from his plate and studied me. “You’re not lying.”

I shook my head. “Nope.”

“And just how does a kid like you get tickets like that?”

I just settled against the booth and shrugged. “A wizard never reveals his secrets.”

He regarded me for a moment longer, and then set down his fork. “My attention. You have it. What do you want?”

2) Read at least 4 books.
Pretty much the same place it was last week.

3) Revise first 3 chapters of TSB.
Same place it was last week.

4) Post 2-3 times/week on the blog.
So far, so good! I’ve hit the twice-a-week mark all month. 🙂

5) Finish crits on Cloudy for Eris. (NEW)

7 comments on “June #WriteMotivation – Week 4 Update

  1. Laura Weymouth says:

    Every time my mom went away in the evening and my dad put my sister and I to bed, he’d sing us Bohemian Rhapsody as a lullaby. It was kind of…freaky. A nice, paternal sort of freaky, but still freaky nevertheless.

    I am loving the story excerpts. They make me want to read the whole thing!

  2. K.T. Hanna says:

    I think your June has been great hon. Life sometimes puts stones in the path to trip over – the bastard that she is lol.

    July will be awesome!

    • Michelle says:

      *hugs* Thank you! And thanks for getting #writemotivation going. It’s been so helpful over the past year and I’ve really enjoyed all the people I’ve gotten to meet through it! 🙂

  3. what baby wouldn’t love to hear dean winchester sing to them? my son loved to hear me sing anything – my daughter hated everything i sang – so picky! still, she would have loved dean, i’m sure of it.

Leave a Reply

