June #WriteMotivation – Week 3 Update

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1) Write 30k on the urban fantasy story. (And really, I should think up a title while I’m at it…)
I just broke 23,000 words on it this weekend! It’s coming along nicely, though I’m about to the point where I’ve run out of outline.

An unedited excerpt:

“Breakfast,” Devan said.

“What?”

He raised an eyebrow. “I need breakfast.”

“You just had breakfast. Apparently by eating half the food in my fridge.” Not that there was much food, but…

“No. That wasn’t breakfast. That wasn’t even a snack.” He took a step closer to me. “I am starving, and I am starting to get much less picky about ways to fix that.”

I did not like the hungry gleam in his eyes, and my certainty that he wouldn’t eat me started to evaporate. “Okay, okay, we’ll go to IHOP or something.”

“Awesome.” He clapped me on the shoulder and slipped past me into the living room. “You’re buying.”

2) Read at least 4 books.
Pretty much the same place it was last week.

3) Revise first 3 chapters of TSB.
Same place it was last week.

4) Post 2-3 times/week on the blog.
Still doing good on this. I have another couple of posts scheduled for later this week, too, plus I’ve got one up on the RRFS blog today.

5) Finish crits on Cloudy for Eris. (NEW)

6 comments on “June #WriteMotivation – Week 3 Update

  1. Woot! Way to go! 😀 And I like that quote. We’ve moved from shoulder squeezes to shoulder claps? 😉

    • Michelle says:

      I’ll have you know I haven’t used shoulder squeezing once in this story. Which is actually kind of shocking, considering how much I normally use it…

  2. congrats on all these goals! You’ve done so well! YAY! *throws cookies* And if your buying IHOP, I’m in! 😀

  3. woo hoo! great work on that first goal! loved the excerpt, but it made me hungry for IHOP.

Leave a Reply

