June #WriteMotivation – Week 2 Post

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

And we roll straight on into week 2.

This weekend was another busy one, with Eris’s Marvel-themed birthday all day Saturday. (Go say happy birthday to her!) Seriously, we started watching Iron Man at 10:30 a.m.

Also, there were mimosas. It was awesome.

Anyway. Goal updates!

1) Write 30k on the urban fantasy story. (And really, I should think up a title while I’m at it…)
My word count on the actual story is 17,733, and I think I’m about 1/4 to 1/3 of the way through. And then there are the three random short scenes I wrote (same world, same characters, post-novel continuity) that total about 4,500 words.

Why? Because apparently I can’t actually write a novel without writing random scenes about what happens AFTER.

And you get an unedited excerpt, as well:

“Why the hell should I help you?”

The werewolf loomed over me. “Because if you help me, I can forget you were ever here.”

Shit. Visions of a trespassing charge danced in my head. “You wouldn’t tattle to the wizards.”

“If it would keep them off my back so I can find this thing? You’d better believe it.”

“You’re bluffing,” Mick said.

His smile was almost genial. “Try me.”

Mick hissed softly.

I was about to be stuck between a wolf and a snake each trying to out-intimidate the other. Fantastic.

2) Read at least 4 books.
Pretty much the same place it was last week.

3) Revise first 3 chapters of TSB.
Same place it was last week.

4) Post 2-3 times/week on the blog.
So far, so good. I have two other movie reviews that are half-written, so I’ll have to finish them up and schedule them for later this week. (Plus, I’ve got a post for the RRFS blog that needs to be edited and uploaded.)

5) Finish crits on Cloudy for Eris. (NEW)
Done and delivered on Friday. πŸ˜€

3 comments on “June #WriteMotivation – Week 2 Post

  1. Love that excerpt! I’ve definitely become a writer who writes out of order – just means we see the big picture, right? πŸ˜€

  2. love the last line of the excerpt. nice.

    i’ve also been struggling with writing a project from start to finish in a straight line. maybe that’s just our creative process and we need to embrace it. we write in zigzags.

Leave a Reply

