June #WriteMotivation – Week 1 Post

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

So we’re only what, three days into June? It always trips me up when my first post for #WriteMotivation is just after the first weekend because I’m usually like, “Um…I signed up?”

Particularly since most of Friday night was actually spent glued to the TV/weather radar, watching as May decided to close itself with a bang.

Words cannot express how grateful I am to have a house that’s undamaged, and how much my heart has been breaking for those who weren’t so lucky. I spent a lot of time this weekend praying and obsessively refreshing Twitter and Facebook, waiting to see my friends in OKC and elsewhere check in and make sure they were okay. (Thankfully, they were.)

And then most of Saturday was spent first with Rebekah for her birthday (It was awesome!), and then with Eris, watching the last half of season two of Teen Wolf (season three starts tonight!), which proceeded to yank my heart out of my chest and stomp on it. Then it threw a shaker full of salt on me for good measure. I spent the last three episodes clutching a pillow to my chest, clinging to Eris, and trying not to bawl like a baby.

Then yesterday, the Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society blog launched!

Yes, this is the new blog project I was writing posts for during #WriteMotivation last month. Six of us (friends, writers, critique partners) decided to start blogging together, talking about our personal writing journeys and sharing any helpful tips we find along the way.

We’re introducing ourselves this week (MEET THE FERRETS!), with regular posts starting the week after.

…Holy cow, this weekend was busy. No wonder I’m tired.

Anyway, time for the actual goal updates!

1) Write 30k on the urban fantasy story. (And really, I should think up a title while I’m at it…)
I’ve written about 3,000 words so far this month, which brings me to chapter 4 and my overall word count to about 9,000.

Guys. I kind of love this story right now. Connor (my MC) is so freaking awkwardly adorable and I am screwing him over SO BADLY. Would you like an excerpt? OF COURSE YOU WOULD. πŸ˜€

She stomped her foot against the glass floor and it rolled like wave, tossing me back again. This time, when I hit the wall, the only thing I felt was the pressure of it.

Good news: I was right next to the door.

Bad news: The floor was cracked irreparably, and the entire room bent toward the center.

I slapped at the door, fumbling desperately for the ward alarm with an arm I couldn’t feel before three dozen volatile spellbooks and I went toppling into the basement.

2) Read at least 4 books.
I’ve started Mine to Possess by Nalini Singh (a sci-fi romantic suspense; part of a series I LOVE) and The Wind Merchant by Ryan Dunlap. The Wind Merchant is a steampunk novel and Ryan is a member of my NaNo group, so I am looking forward to reading this one. πŸ™‚

3) Revise first 3 chapters of TSB.
I have a general idea of what I’m doing to revise them (rewrite them from my MMC’s viewpoint), but I haven’t started on this yet.

4) Post 2-3 times/week on the blog.
This counts as one, right? I have at least two book reviews and a movie review I want to write, so if I can drag myself away from my UF long enough, those will get posted in the next couple of weeks.

5) Finish crits on Cloudy for Eris. (NEW)
Yes, I completely forgot to add this one to my list when I signed up. I promised to have this back by the end of the month, so it’s a goal. I’m about 40% of the way done, so hopefully I’ll be able to get this completed quickly.

2 comments on “June #WriteMotivation – Week 1 Post

  1. K.T. Hanna says:

    I think this definitely counts as a blog post! We’ll be cheering you on as usual.
    Congrats on the group blog launch πŸ™‚
    May June be less hectic and less tornado riddled

Leave a Reply

