May #WriteMotivation – Week 2 Update

So over the past month my friend Eris got me watching Teen Wolf on Netflix.

*waits patiently for the laughter to die down*

It reminds me a little bit of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, except with werewolves instead of vampires. It doesn’t have quite the same flair for dialogue that Buffy did (and the season two intro is just…awful), but so far it’s been entertaining and addicting in a very crack-like way.

But I’ll be honest. There is one major reason I’m watching the show, and that’s for this guy right here:

Dylan O'Brien as Stiles, Teen Wolf

Ladies and gentlemen, Stiles Stilinski.

Stiles is not the main character. He’s the main character’s best friend. At first glance, he’s your stereotypical spastic goofball sidekick, and if you’re not watching closely, that’s all you’ll see.

But then about halfway through season one, five teenagers get trapped in the high school and they’re being stalked by the Alpha werewolf. And watching those two episodes, I realized Stiles was the one coming up with the plans to get them out of the school or away from the Alpha. He held it together when everyone else was in various stages of freaking out.

That was when I started paying more attention to him. And by the end of season one, I have to say, if I were picking my zombie apocalypse team? Forget the werewolves. Stiles–the dorky, fully human “sidekick”–would be my first pick every single time.

Some lovely person who is more articulate than I am posted a great Tumblr essay on why Stiles is such a sneaky badass.

If I can ever create a character half as cool, I will weep tears of joy.

On to the goal updates!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1) Critique the stories I’ve been sent and get them back to their authors by deadlines.
I got two of them sent back last week, and I have two more to go. They’re entire novels, though, and at least one isn’t due back until the end of June. So I’ve got some time.

2) Read at least 4 books.
I finished The Night Circus and Witches Abroad, which is another Discworld book. And yes, it was awesome.

And I just started another Discworld book (Monstrous Regiment) in part because I borrowed it from a friend and I want to get it back to her and in part because DISCWORLD IS AMAZING AND I LOVE IT.

3) Write at least two posts for a NEW blog project.
Same place it was last week.

4) Start outlining 2008 NaNo Project, code name: SK.
I’ve made a little more headway on this, but I’ve actually finished out the bulk of the story development I was doing on the urban fantasy idea.

5) Cheer on everyone else!
I plan to be hanging out more on the #writemotivation tag this week and I’ll be making the rounds to more of the blogs. 🙂

How’s your May going?

9 comments on “May #WriteMotivation – Week 2 Update

  1. I think we seriously need our retreat this weekend to knock some things out, eh? XD

  2. I don’t know about you, mine is moving along nicely.

  3. Wish I could be there for the retreat!! I think you are doing smashing, BTW! but I totally understand how overwhelming things can be. I’m thinking about having a #writemotivation virtual meetup…gonna put out a post on my blog to see the interest and timeframe…etc….it’ll be a pretty much chit chat session!

    PS: I also love those sneaky-up on you secondary characters! 🙂

  4. love a good secondary character. sometimes they make the series, don’t they? i’m dying to know two things: first, how was the night circus? i’ve heard a lot about it and have thought about reading it myself (throw it on the tbr pile!) second, what is this secret blog project? gah! suspending curiosity is not easy for me.

    • thebnc says:

      Yes, secondary characters = awesome. And the great ones end up stealing the show. 🙂

      The Night Circus was good. Really slow to start, but the language was lovely enough that I kept reading. There are parts where it jumps backward and forward in time, so pay attention to the dates at the top of each chapter. (I didn’t, and got confused.) I’ll probably try to get a more in-depth review up at some point in the next few weeks.

      And the secret blog project will launch in June. So I’ll announce more then!

Leave a Reply

