May #WriteMotivation – Week 1 Update

Well, this past weekend was the OWFI conference in Oklahoma City, which meant I was out of pocket for the better part of four days cramming my brain full of all sorts of awesome writing-related stuff.

The keynote speaker this year was Patrick Rothfuss, who was absolutely fantastic. He gave a really great keynote address and did a session on worldbuilding that was equally awesome.

He's also very gracious about random girls accosting him in an elevator for a picture.

He’s also very gracious about random girls accosting him in an elevator for a picture.

Plus, Rebekah won first place in the sci-fi/fantasy/horror novel category in the OWFI contest! (Go over there and tell her congrats!)

All in all, it was a very good weekend. πŸ™‚

On to the goal updates!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1) Critique the stories I’ve been sent and get them back to their authors by deadlines.
I’ve worked a bit on these, but not much. Hoping to get at least one of them sent back this week.

2) Read at least 4 books.
Right now I’m about 70% of the way through The Night Circus, which started off slow (very slow), but has picked up considerably.

3) Write at least two posts for a NEW blog project.
One down, one to go!

4) Start outlining 2008 NaNo Project, code name: SK.
Okay, so I’ve started this. I’ve also started work on the aforementioned urban fantasy concept that bonked me over the head. And I also got another idea for my ’06 NaNo (TSB) that I think could make it stronger.

So…um…I have no idea what will happen with this goal. Something will get outlined by the end of the month, that’s for certain.

5) Cheer on everyone else!
I cheered and clapped a lot at OWFI, but I will hopefully be doing more of that online for the rest of the month. πŸ™‚

7 comments on “May #WriteMotivation – Week 1 Update

  1. Amy Ravenel says:

    As long as something gets outlined, I’d say you’re doing pretty well. Also, love the picture with Patrick Rothfuss. πŸ™‚

    • thebnc says:

      Haha, here’s hoping. Who knows, I may have 3 projects outlined by the end of the month. (That won’t get confusing, will it?) πŸ˜‰

  2. Ryan Dunlap says:

    That’s so awesome! I saw the thumbnail and thought it was a post from Rothfuss’ FB page first. I think I’m about to start my third readthrough of The Name of the Wind (his use of character and dialogue is so great).

    • thebnc says:

      It was EXTREMELY awesome. He was so down-to-earth and just a generally cool guy. I’m so, so glad I got the chance to meet him. (And third read-through? DAMN, son! :-))

      • Ryan Dunlap says:

        Okay, okay, I’ll admit that the 2nd (and soon to be 3rd) readthrough were done by my Kindle reading to me in the car on my hour commute every day… it helps me during the rewriting phases of my books. Do you watch The Story Board that he hosts on Geek and Sundry?

  3. So wonderful you got to spend time with Rebekah at OWFI! One of these days, I want to go to a writer’s convention…one day, with someone I know! Don’t think I could go by myself! LOL

    Good luck on your goals. Knowing you, you’ll complete them just fine! πŸ˜€

    • thebnc says:

      We had three people at our table at the awards banquet. When they called Rebekah’s name, we made as much noise as the tables with 10 or more people. πŸ˜€

      And hopefully you’ll get a chance to go to a writing conference soon! Every conference I’ve been to has been very fun and welcoming, so even if you don’t know many people, you’ll have some fast friends by the end of it.

Leave a Reply

