April Camp NaNo – Week 4

Mmm, s'mores and writing.

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

Minimum word count for April 28: 28,000/30,000

My current word count: 27,772/30,000

Adventures in NaNoing: I FINISHED!

Yes, that’s pretty much the important thing here. I finally wrote “The End.” At some point in the next couple of weeks, I’ll probably skim through, clean it up as best I can, and prepare to send it to the people who, for reasons I cannot begin to fathom, actually want to read this thing.

(Also, my final word count? I am so happy it’s a palindrome and that was TOTALLY NOT PLANNED. :-D)

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited, as always.

“What are you waiting for, girl?” General Natriss demands. “I’m not going to stand around here all day. As soon as that shield comes down, I’m going to flay you alive!”

“That’s not really an incentive for me to take the shield down, is it?” I snap back, unable to stop myself from rising to her petty sniping.

General Natriss cackles. “Then take it down and we’ll talk this out like ladies, then. Over a cup of coffee.”

Ugh, coffee. I scowl at her. “Coffee is disgusting. Tea is so much better.”

From the way her eyes widen, you’d think that I had just insulted every member of her family, born and unborn. “You take that back, you…you…”

“Only uncultured, uncouth fools like coffee,” I continue, for no reason other than it is just absolutely hilarious to get her all riled up about this.

Her face twitches, and for a moment I think she’s going to have a seizure. Then her beautiful features harden into granite. “And tea is for spoiled, foppish brats who are too afraid to get their hands dirty.”

Something in her tone ignites a fire deep in my chest, and it’s all I can do not to punch her face right then.

2 comments on “April Camp NaNo – Week 4

  1. […] In April, I finished the first draft of my 2012 NaNo novel, TIAD. […]

  2. […] projects I want to complete (my NaNo novels from 2012, 2011, and 2008). Finished the draft of my NaNo 2012 novel in April, didn’t get a chance to work on the […]

Leave a Reply

