April Camp NaNo – Week 3

This past week has been the kind of week where I just want to curl up on the couch with a book and just kind of remove myself from the world for awhile.

Between everything that happened in Boston, the 18th anniversary of the OKC bombing, the explosion in Texas, and some midnight tornado sirens and warnings halfway through the week, it was a week that just left me feeling stressed, tired, and heavy, for lack of a better word.

It’s times like this that writing has really helped. It gives me a chance to take a break from this world for a little while and channel those heavy feelings into creating another world. And when I come back, I’m a little stronger and a little more hopeful.

And even though last week reminded me that there is evil in our world, there were also moments like this that reminded me that the human capacity for love, compassion, and generosity will always outweigh it.

Mmm, s'mores and writing.

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

Minimum word count for April 21: 21,000/30,000

My current word count: 21,748/30,000

Adventures in NaNoing: I did a good job of keeping up with my word count this week, and I am so very close to the end of the book. I ended up having to break what I thought would be my penultimate chapter into two, so now, finally, I’m on chapter 19/20.

Also, trying to write while squished under the stairs with a sleeping bag and a pair of boots? Not as easy as it sounds.

Very Short Excerpt:
(Completely unedited, as always.)

“Transport Alpha Delta Zero Niner, report.”

After only the briefest of hesitations, Edgar punches a button and answers. “This is Transport Alpha Delta Zero Niner, over.”

“Transport, why aren’t you at your station?”

My heart stops, and then all I can hear is the pounding of blood in my ears. No. We can’t be found out now. Not when we’re so close.

“Technical trouble,” Edgar lies easily. “Our engine and navigation systems are on the fritz. We should arrive at our station shortly.”

We continue flying in silence for about thirty seconds. Just when I think we’re in the clear, the com crackles to life once again.

“Transport Alpha Delta Zero Niner, you are aware your station is in the other direction?”

5 comments on “April Camp NaNo – Week 3

  1. Serena Saint-Marceaux says:

    Tea and writing = two things that make all badness at least a little better, right?

    You mean writing crammed into a cupboard under the stairs isn’t a normal activity?

    Love the excerpt. 🙂 How do you answer that? Oops?

  2. Boy, do I hear you on the hectic-ness of last week. So very much. *hugs*

  3. As to the excerpt – nice! I would say “What? I must have got mixed up, oh no I can’t hear you!” 🙂 It was a tough week to get writing done with everything going on in the world. But they caught him and justice will be served, even if it justice means nothing to the dead. Oo… I might have to use that in a book. Anyway, good job on keeping with it this week! You can do this!

Leave a Reply

