April Camp NaNo – Week 1

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

Minimum word count for April 7: 7,000/30,000

My current word count: 3,352/30,000

Adventures in NaNoing: As you might be able to tell, I haven’t so much shot out of the gate this month as kind of hopped out and limped. Between work and finishing up a couple of projects I’m critiquing for others, I haven’t had as much time to write as I’d like.

However, today was shockingly productive, in that I wrote nearly 2,500 words. And I was able to get enough other stuff done that I’m fairly sure I’ll have some more time to write this week.

…And okay, yes, MAYBE I spent Saturday reading a Discworld book instead of writing. DON’T JUDGE ME.

In other news, the A to Z Challenge has been a lot of fun so far! I’ve enjoyed dropping by the other blogs to see what everybody’s doing for the month. Next week, most likely, I’ll post some of my favorite blogs I’ve been visiting.

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited, as always.

We eat in silence, finishing off the gruel in our bucket. (I have no idea if it’s actually gruel, but by God that’s what I imagine something called “gruel” would taste like.) Nadine examines the empty bowls and bucket, looking as though she’s trying to consider how to use them to get out.

From across the hall, I hear a zap and a loud “QUACK!”, and then Professor VonQuack smacks against the back of their cell, his yellow feathers singed and smoking.

I jump to my feet. “Professor! Are you all right?”

The response is a wave of a wing and a faint “Quack.”

“The professor says he’s quite all right, and he thanks you for your concern, Miss Lia,” Seb says.

Leave a Reply

