March #WriteMotivation – Week 4

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1. Finish first draft of NaNo 2012.
Yeah, we’re just moving this to April for Camp NaNo. I may write some more on it this month, but I won’t beat myself up over it if I don’t.

2. Read at least 4 books.
This week I read:
Jingo by Terry Pratchett

I love Discworld, guys. Just every time I read one of these novels I have to hunt down someone so I can read aloud a particularly clever/funny passage. Because you HAVE to share them.

3. Pre-write all posts for the A to Z Challenge in April.
I’m scheduled up through O (that’s 15 posts) and I have just three left to write: Q, Y, and Z. And Y is started; I just have to finish it. I’m also about halfway finished with the book I’m doing for Q.

4. Work out at least three times a week.
So I’ve never been that flexible. Even when I was taking ballet and gymnastics (which was…dear God, 20 years ago, HOW AM I THAT OLD), I couldn’t touch my nose to my knee or touch my toes when I bent over. And when I first started working out a few months ago, I was lucky to touch the tops of my ankles.

So you can imagine my shock when I bent over on Sunday and THIS HAPPENED:

Why, yes, my fingers ARE under my toes.

Why, yes, my fingers ARE under my toes.

I’m officially more flexible at age 28 than I have ever been in my LIFE, and that’s after working out regularly for just two and a half months. I don’t even care if I lose weight, guys. I CAN TOUCH MY TOES.

Take THAT, eight-year-old me.

How’s your month going? Still kicking butt on your goals?

6 comments on “March #WriteMotivation – Week 4

  1. Woot! Good job on the flexibility and on the goals!

  2. YAY! Congrats on touching your toes! I’ve not ever really been able to do that! I suck at motivating myself to exercise, and I don’t have anyone to work out with, sooooo…I’ve learned to face the fact that I’m lazy 🙂

    Congrats on the writing/reading portion too. I want to read Terry Pratchett as well but daggum this whole time thing. I so need a Time Turner, or a Tardis….something!

  3. Hooray for toes! I am so very proud of you for reaching them at last! =)

    Hey… it’s the little things in life, right? Those are always more important than the giant overwhelming goals we set for ourselves. Especially when we reach the little ones without realizing it!

    • thebnc says:

      That’s very true. Because all the little goals are the ones that slowly add up and then the next thing you know, you’re looking back and going “Holy cow, look at how far I’ve come!”

Leave a Reply

