March #WriteMotivation – Week 3

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1. Finish first draft of NaNo 2012.
I’ve made so little headway on this I’m tempted to just shuffle it to next month and work on it during Camp NaNo. Unless I bust out close to 40,000 words in the next 2 weeks, it ain’t happening.

Here’s an excerpt:

I nestle under the blanket, which stinks to high heaven but is marginally warmer than the cell. The rocks are rock-hard, as one might expect, and I toss and turn, trying to find a position where a miniature stalagmite isn’t poking me in the back. It’s not very easy, though.

However, I know Nadine is right. If he were here, Captain Butler would be ordering me to relax and get some sleep. But imagining the order in his rough voice makes my heart ache. I don’t know where he is. I don’t know what that awful General Natriss is doing to him. And there is nothing I can do about it except be stuck here and pray. For what, I don’t know, but I have to do something.

I curl up in a tighter ball, steadfastly ignore the rock currently making best friends with my kidney by way of my lower back, and fall asleep.

One of my goals with this story was to end as many chapters with the MC falling asleep as I could. I’m alternately proud and ashamed at how well I’ve done with that.

2. Read at least 4 books.
This week I read:
Komarr and A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold

Both were really, really good. I hope to have in-depth reviews up at some point, but let’s put it this way: by the end of the second book, I was adding the first two in the series to my TBR list solely because I wanted to read more about one of the characters.

3. Pre-write all posts for the A to Z Challenge in April.
The first nine are scheduled right now, bringing me up to ten total. I’ve got the books I still need to read from the library and the movies in the Netflix queue, but at least I’m making steady headway on this.

Even if I don’t get them all written by April 1, I think I’ll have enough of a buffer that I’ll be able to make sure everything’s written and scheduled by the middle of the month.

4. Work out at least three times a week.
This is probably the goal I’m doing the best on, oddly enough. I’ve been working out pretty much every day after work and then at least one day on the weekends. I haven’t actually lost much weight, but I can tell my arms are getting more defined and my stomach’s a little flatter. Which is yay!

How goes your #writemotivation month?

5 comments on “March #WriteMotivation – Week 3

  1. Cheyenne says:

    Several #writemotivation writers have fitness goals on their list and it makes me ashamed that I’ve been ignoring my own! Well done on all your goals!

    As for Bujold, my sister loves her stuff and always recommends it. I *really* need to get to reading some of it, so I look forward to your review!

  2. okay, i gotta know why you are ending each chapter with your mc falling asleep. that doesn’t sound easy, by the way. i’m very impressed with how many posts you’ve got prepped for next month. i seriously need to start prewriting some of mine and not being so spontaneous about my posting schedule, etc. i think i’m trying to say that planning is going to be a goal in my near future. great job on your goals, especially the exercise. that is a tough one to stick with!

    • thebnc says:

      One of my ideas with this story, since it was a crazy mash-up fanfic parody thing, was to deliberately make a lot of mistakes that beginning writers make. One of those is ending chapters and scenes with the main character falling asleep. (Because you want to try and end chapters at tense points so people are like “MUST READ MORE” and then the next thing you know they’re cursing at you because they stayed up till 3 a.m. to finish the book.)

      It’s actually a lot harder than it sounds, because I’ve spent the past 10 years training myself OUT of making those mistakes. Going back and doing them deliberately has been very weird, to say the least.

      • ah! you are very brave, i must say. although learning the rules so you know how to break them can work to your advantage sometimes. i’m just not at that level, yet.

Leave a Reply

