Slow Cooker Blog Hop – The Recipes!

It’s time for the Slow Cooker: A Writer’s Best Friend Blog Hop!

Slow Cooker Blog Hop Icon

A note: these meals tend to make a LOT. As in, 9 to 12 servings “a lot.” I have two roommates, so we’re always on the lookout for recipes that will feed all three of us and leave some leftovers for lunch the next day.

Black Bean Soup
(Adapted from Emealz.com)

Last year, the roomies and I signed up for an online service called Emealz.com. Basically once a week they send you a meal plan and a grocery list, which was HOLY DEAR GOD WONDERFUL and saved us SO much time.

The very first meal plan we got had the following recipe on it for black bean soup, and it was the first thing I made. It was fabulous, and more importantly, it was FAST. After soaking the beans overnight, it took me all of 10 minutes to chop the onion, measure the spices, and throw everything in the slow cooker before work.

Ingredients:
1 lb. dry black beans
1 c. chopped onion
2-3 T chopped jalapeno peppers (basically depending on how spicy you want it)
3 – 15 oz. cans chicken broth
1/2 t garlic powder
1 T chili powder
1 t cumin
1/4 t ground red pepper
3/4 t pepper

Topping:
Sour cream

Soak your black beans overnight in 6-8 cups water.

Rinse and drain the beans, then dump everything in the slow cooker and cook it on low for 8-10 hours, until the beans are tender. Serve topped with sour cream, if you like.

For a side, toast some French bread. Dunk into your delicious soup and enjoy.

Pinto Bean Chili with Corn and Winter Squash
(Adapted from the Southern Living Slow-Cooker Cookbook)

Better known to the roomies and I as butternut squash chili. Yes, there are pinto beans, but there’s BUTTERNUT SQUASH, people. That is FAR more important.

This one’s also nice because if you chop the veggies the night before, your prep time in the morning is much, much shorter.

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups peeled butternut squash, cut into 1/2 inch cubes (~1 Lb.)
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
6-7 garlic cloves, minced*
2 T chili powder
1 t salt
1/2 t ground cumin
2 16-oz. cans of pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1 16-oz. package frozen whole kernel corn, thawed
1 15-oz. can crushed tomatoes
1 4.5-oz. can chopped green chiles
1 1/2 c. water

Toppings:
3/4 c. queso fresco, crumbled
Lime wedges

Put everything in the slow cooker and cook it on low for 8 hours, until it’s thick and the squash is tender. Serve topped with cheese and a lime wedge on the side.

*The original recipe calls for one garlic clove. Because I love garlic and this makes some ridiculous amount of chili, I always use at least six cloves.

And now, here are the other blogs where you can find even more recipes!

Rebekah Loper, Writer
The Merry Mennonite
Fairbetty’s World
Sue Ann Bowling
Thoughts of a Visual and Verbal Artist
Write Backwards – Jamie Dement (LadyJai)
Bonnie Rae, Just Words

13 comments on “Slow Cooker Blog Hop – The Recipes!

  1. I’m totally going to try your black bean soup, subbing in veggie broth for chicken broth ’cause I’m vegetarian 🙂 Sounds delicious!!! Thanks for sharing. I ❤ this blog hop idea! We should do it again (and hopefully get more participants next time).

    • thebnc says:

      I think subbing in vegetable broth will work wonderfully. (In fact, I think we’ve done that before.) Glad you’re enjoying it! I’ve gathered a lot of recipes to add to the grocery list. And oh look, I’ll need to go grocery shopping tomorrow… 😀

  2. you and your garlic *giggles*. One thing we know you are not is a vampire :P.

    • thebnc says:

      If ever I became a vampire, I think I would miss garlic more than sunlight. I swear we have 2-3 bulbs in the house at any given time, and if we get down to just one it’s like an emergency on par with “only one roll of toilet paper left for three bathrooms.”

  3. merrymennonite says:

    Definitely bookmarking this! I’ve been wanting to start cooking with beans for some time now. Thanks for the recipes!

  4. I love black bean soup, but I’m usually stuck with hoping my favorite restaurant has it the day I’m there. I am bookmarking this. Have you considered adding chopped carrots? The restaurant serves it with salsa as well as sour cream.

  5. I’m not a soup person, but um….those look AWESOME! Might have to try it. But, cold winter in Florida, well….not much. 🙂

  6. oh, that black bean soup sounds amazing. if only i were any kind of cook, i would have joined in this hop. i shall just steal these lovely ideas instead and look like i can cook. 🙂

Leave a Reply

