News & Notes from Jan. 21-25

– As I’m sure you’ve all heard by now, J.J. Abrams will be the director of the next Star Wars movie.

i'm-ok-with-this

Seriously, Abrams did a great job with Star Trek, and Star Trek Into Darkness looks amazing. I can’t wait to see what he does with Star Wars.

– More characters have been added to X-Men: Days of Future Past, specifically Rogue, Kitty Pryde, and Iceman. Anna Paquin, Ellen Page, and Shawn Ashmore are all coming back to reprise their roles.

Back in the ’90s, Marvel took a bunch of X-Men comic arcs and turned them into chapter books, and my brother and I ate them up like they were candy. Days of Future Past was one of the books we had, so a combination of nostalgia and my inner Marvel fangirl is making me go “squee!” every time I read another update about this movie.

– I spent most of Friday–well, I spent it working, but on breaks, I was hanging out on Twitter doing #PitMad, basically a 12-hour-long pitch party where agents hang out on the hashtag and writers condense their sprawling works into 133 characters (because you have to save room for the hashtag!). First time in my life I’ve ever tried to condense a story into a Tweet, and it is quite possibly harder than writing an actual query letter.

I didn’t get any bites (not surprising), but it was a fun experiment and I’d like to try it again…perhaps with a little more prep time. A big thanks to Brenda Drake for putting it on and Becca Weston for offering a place for us to practice our pitches!

– My friend and co-ML Rebekah is in the final round of the Curiosity Quills NaNo Virtuosos contest! This is the final round, and the winner gets a publishing contract.

You can read the pitch and first 30 pages of her novel, Catalyst, at the website and then click here to vote. Voting closes February 8.

4 comments on “News & Notes from Jan. 21-25

  1. Thanks for the mention, Michelle! πŸ˜€

    Sorry there weren’t any bites for TSB with #pitmad :/. Are you going to pitch at OWFI again?

    • thebnc says:

      You’re most welcome! And I haven’t decided yet. Then again, I haven’t researched what agents/editors will be there at all. I’ll probably revisit the idea around March.

  2. Sorry you didn’t get bites on #pitmad. Having read the story in an earlier draft, I can say it is completely awesome and deserves a place.

    And yeah, for Rebekah! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

