Draft Four – Achievement Unlocked

So apparently January is better known as the “month of finishing drafts” for me. With the exception of the third draft, which I finished on July 1 last year, every draft of my 2006 NaNo novel has been completed in January: January 2007, January 2010, and now January 2013.

And apparently exactly 3 years apart as well. o.O

I cut out nearly a little more than 18,500 words (and 61 pages) between draft 3 and draft 4, tightening the story considerably and (God willing) putting it closer to a publishable word count. 123k is still pretty long, but it’s a far sight better than 142k or (I kid you not) 186k, which is what the second draft was.

On the plus side? Not even out of January yet and already accomplished one of my goals for the year. SWEET.

Beer!

I get a beer!

I’m taking a long break after this one. I love this story and I love these characters, but I have rewritten and revised this novel twice in the past year. I need a break, because I am way too close to it to make any accurate judgments on it anymore.

So here’s what’s next on the writing docket:

– Rewrite my synopsis for this story 1, 2, 10 times in preparation for a contest deadline on February 1.
– Take out a couple of short stories and see if they’re ready for a contest deadline on January 31.
– And finish “This Is a Dare,” my 2012 NaNo novel, so I can send it to the people who have actually requested to read this monstrosity. Hopefully I’ll be able to get that done by the end of February (she says as the universe laughs and laughs and laughs).

How are your writing goals coming so far?

Beer picture by Bernt Rostad

3 comments on “Draft Four – Achievement Unlocked

  1. […] Writing Finish draft 4 of my ’06 NaNo for CPs. Completed in January. […]

  2. […] In January, I finished the fourth draft of my 2006 NaNo novel, TSB. […]

  3. […] Writing Finish draft 4 of my ’06 NaNo for CPs. Completed in January. […]

Leave a Reply

