The Book List for 2013

As with last year, I have a scary pile of books sitting on my shelf that I would like to attempt to read at some point during 2013. Some were on there last year (Um, oops?), some were gifts, some were recommendations, some were “Oh, hi, massive sale at the used bookstore,” and still others were “I have disposable income and no willpower.”

No willpower whatsoever.

No willpower whatsoever.

And as with last year, this list will expand as my favorite authors publish their newest books (come on, February!) and as I discover new shiny things that make me go “Oooh!” (Example: Brandon Sanderson has a handful of novellas I have not yet read. I MUST AMEND THIS.)

Fiction:
Endymion by Dan Simmons
Long Lost by David Morrell
If on a winter’s night a traveler by Italo Calvino
The Silver Pigs by Lindsey Davis (finished on January 4!)
Shadows in Bronze by Lindsey Davis
The Course of Honor by Lindsey Davis
Young Men in Spats by P.G. Wodehouse
I, Robot by Isaac Asimov
Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi
Kushiel’s Avatar by Jacqueline Carey
Kushiel’s Chosen by Jacqueline Carey
Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
Shada by Douglas Adams
The Street Lawyer by John Grisham
The Honor of Spies by W.E.B. Griffin
Foreign Influence by Brad Thor
True Blue by David Baldacci
The Passage by Justin Cronin
Komarr by Lois McMaster Bujold
A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Gone by Michael Grant
The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
The Ancient by R.A. Salvatore
The Demon Awakens by R.A. Salvatore
The Demon Spirit by R.A. Salvatore
The Demon Apostle by R.A. Salvatore
The Wind Merchant by Ryan Dunlap
Triple Play by Abigail Barnette
Long Relief by Abigail Barnette

Nonfiction
The Pirate Queen: Queen Elizabeth I, Her Pirate Adventurers, and the Dawn of Empire by Susan Ronald
Techniques of the Selling Writer by Dwight V. Swain
Characters and Viewpoint by Orson Scott Card
Story by Robert McKee
Steering the Craft by Ursula K. Le Guin
Creating Characters: How to Build Story People by Dwight V. Swain

Anything on there look good to you guys? What does your 2013 reading list look like?

8 comments on “The Book List for 2013

  1. i need to show my husband this pile because mine’s only about half that size. nothing for him to complain about now. i really enjoyed westerfeld’s leviathan series – lots of steampunkery going on there. my husband loves ra salvatore – not sure if he’s read those books. i’ve read some of the dark elf (drizzt) series. it seems like everyone is reading or talking about bird by bird. let me know if that one’s good. i still have robert mckee’s story on my bedside. i will read it this year!

    • thebnc says:

      I’m looking forward to Leviathan — It’ll be one I “reward” myself with after I make it through a couple of the other books. 🙂

      My roommate (a Salvatore fanboy) LOVED the Demonwars Saga and what he’s read of The Saga of the First King thus far (The Ancient is the second book in that series; The Highwayman is the first and I read it last year). So if your husband hasn’t read those, I would recommend them.

      I’ll let you know about Bird by Bird as soon as I finish it.

  2. If I went by the ‘read everything on my shelf I haven’t yet’ theory… I better be getting paid to read. I’ve got probably at least 300-400 books in here I haven’t read yet. That’s conservative. And then I have many many hundred more I HAVE read. So… I have to take my reading list in short bursts. I’ve been promising Clay to read some of his stuff so I’m working my way through the Night Angel trilogy by Brent Weeks now, then reading the 3 Robert Langdon books out by Dan Brown in preparation for ‘Inferno’ coming out in May. After that? No idea what I’ll be reading!

    • thebnc says:

      Oooh, how’s the Night Angel trilogy? I’ve heard good things.

      And if you’re ever in need of books to read…boy, do I have recommendations. 😀

Leave a Reply

