The Goal Post for 2013

It’s that time again: time to look at the shiny new year and go “What do I want to accomplish in the next twelve months?”

Goal Post

Why, no, I’m not above making this terrible, terrible pun.

I reread the exercises I did last year over the last few days of 2012 and asked myself, “Does this still fit me? Is this still what I want to do/who I want to be/what I want to accomplish?”

When the answer was still (generally) yes, I moved on to the whole goal-setting portion of the program.

Last year I think I overshot a bit, particularly in overestimating just how much I can write. I’ve tried to keep my goals a little more in the “realistic and yet still a challenge” category for 2013, and I’ve rephrased several goals from last year to see if thinking of them in a new light makes them easier to stick with.

So, without further ado, here’s to 2013!

Physical
Work out at least twice a week for 30 minutes apiece.
Drink at least six glasses of water per day.

Writing
Finish draft 4 of my ’06 NaNo for CPs.
Finish a first draft for at least two of the three projects I want to complete (my NaNo novels from 2012, 2011, and 2008).
Attend the OWFI conference in May and the OCW conference in October.
Pick two of the pictures in my “holy cow I want to write a story about this” folder. Write at least a short story for each one.
Set up a Facebook page for my writing.

Blogging
Review at least one new movie each month. Except for months where the idea of actually giving money to a movie in the theater makes me sick to my stomach.
Keep to a posting schedule of twice a week.
Comment more regularly on the blogs I follow.

Career
Attend another CSS summit.
Up my coding game in PHP, MySQL, and JavaScript.

Intellectual
Read 70 new books in 2013.
Read all the unread books currently on my shelf/Kindle. (Or at least, attempt to.)
Read at least three non-writing-related non-fiction books.
Take more books off my gigantic TBR list than I add to it. (Borrowed from Marissa Meyer.)

What are your goals for 2013?

Goal post picture by Matt Denton

7 comments on “The Goal Post for 2013

  1. Wow! These are some excellent goals! I totally believe in you and know it will be an awesome year. =)

  2. Well, you’ve already read my goals for this year, most likely.

    We Ferrets have high expectations for ourselves, lol, but I have all confidence that WE CAN DO ALL THE THINGS!

  3. […] read these over Christmas break, so alas, they don’t count toward my 70 books in 2013 goal. But reading them did help to get the giant pile in my room to under 40 books, so kind of a […]

  4. […] the plus side? Not even out of January yet and already accomplished one of my goals for the year. […]

  5. […] that we’re about to bid good-bye to 2013, it’s time to look at the goals I set back in January and see how I […]

Leave a Reply

