The Critic’s 2012 Goal Wrap-Up

Well, 2012 is coming to a close, and it’s time to take a look at the goals I set up for myself at the beginning of the year. I may have been a wee bit overly ambitious in some respects.

Let’s see where I ended up, shall we?

Physical
I want to lose 10 pounds.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA…*gasp* *wheeze* HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA… I did get to where I was working out a couple of times a week for the first few months of the year, but that’s all gone to hell since about August.

Career
I want to finish the first draft of my steampunk novel (NaNo 2011).
Didn’t do this because I spent so much time on the next one.

I want to finish draft 3 of my NaNo ’06 novel and start submitting it to agents.
Boy, did I hit this one! I finished draft 3, started draft 4, and pitched it to two agents and an editor. I focused so much on this one, though, that the other writing goals on this list suffered.

I want to finish the first draft of my NaNo ’08 novel.
Maybe not so much…

I want to attend the OWFI conference and the OCW conference again.
Attended both of them with a wonderful group of writing friends.

I want to attend another CSS summit, if at all possible.
Missed the CSS summit, but I did attend a JavaScript summit in November. My brain hurt for three days afterward but IT WAS AWESOME.

I want to find a way to quantify “be a better project manager.”
I don’t know that I found a way to quantify it, but we did find ways to have better project management. So…kind of a win, I guess?

I will enter one writing contest per month, as funds permit.
Over the course of the year, I entered four contests, but I entered eight stories (and placed with three). So I’m fairly happy with that, especially considering I entered zero contests in 2011.

Intellectual
I want to read every unread book that is currently on my shelf/Kindle. (There are over 20, not counting the 2-3 that I will probably purchase over the next month.)
I didn’t read every unread book on my shelf/Kindle because I kept buying new ones. Yes, I have a problem.

That being said, I did read more than 50 books in 2012, and I would like to keep that up in the new year. Especially considering I have more than 30 unread books sitting on my shelf.

Spiritual
I want to continue to read my Bible until I have finished the whole damn thing. And then I want to start over and actually THINK and MEDITATE about what I am reading.
I completed half of this one. I finished reading the whole thing and I have started over, but not nearly as consistently as I was.

Family/Social
I want to remember the birthday of every immediate family member and close friend with a card at the very least.
I will talk to both of my parents at least once a week. I will talk to my grandmother once every other week. I will talk to my brother once every other week.
Let’s not discuss how absolutely terrible I am at actually keeping in touch with people. I’m sorry.

Random
Attend the midnight premiere for The Hobbit with Rebekah in costume.
Attended it, with Rebekah, but I was not in costume. I don’t care, though, because it was AWESOME. (And I did wear my Arwen necklace.)

So, I learned a few things about myself this year.

1) I drastically overestimate how much I can accomplish in a given year.
2) I underestimate how much I actually read. (Not a terrible problem to have, huh?)
3) I should probably alter the way I set some goals in order to see if I have better luck with them next year.
4) Even if I don’t accomplish them, having my goals set down like this helps me to keep them at the forefront of my mind. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve made “finish a draft and start submitting it” a resolution. This is the first year I’ve actually DONE it. That makes me extremely happy.

I also think being involved in #WriteMotivation helped tremendously with the writing-related goals throughout this year. If it continues through 2013, you can bet I’ll be signing up.

Now…maybe I can make some better headway with the non-writing-related goals next year? 🙂

How did you do on your goals for this year?

Leave a Reply

