NaNoWriMo Week 3 and #WriteMotivation Update

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1. Finish Buzz stuff by November 12.
I ended up getting my articles sent in on Nov. 13, finding out I needed three more stories for one of the articles, and finishing them up on Nov. 16. But on the plus side? DONE. SO DONE.

2. Write 50,000 words in November.

Minimum word count for November 18: 30,000/50,000

My word count: 35,332/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: This week I had probably my highest writing day ever (definitely my highest writing day this NaNo) – I hit 7,301 on Saturday, thanks to a combination of our write-in and several Boxes of Doom (OF DOOOOOM!) in the chat room afterward. That catapulted me over the goal for Saturday and got me a couple of days ahead, which will be really good because Thanksgiving is this week!

Yes! It’s Thanksgiving week! November is more than halfway over. Yeah, I know, it snuck up on me, too. I have no idea if I’ll actually be able to finish this story during November (because when I start out thinking “Oh, I can totally do this in 50,000 words!” I end up getting to 50k and realizing I’m only halfway through the novel *headdesk*) but I’m having a lot of fun writing it, so I will hopefully finish it and not let it languish 2/3 of the way done.

Then again, I think a few people might come after me with pitchforks if I don’t finish it.

In other news, apparently my NaNo traditions now involve getting music from Lissa and getting tea from Rebekah. I’ve gotten stocked up on Danny Elfman music (The Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride scores, specifically) and enough tea to open my own cafe.

I am also going to drive my roommates crazy singing “Oogie Boogie’s Song” and “Kidnap the Sandy Claws.”

Which, I suppose, is a nice change from driving them crazy singing “Airship Pirate.”

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited. Andrew, this one’s for you.

“I told you to shut up!” Nadine rages.

Edgar stands and squeezes her shoulder sympathetically. “We’ve all lost people in this war.”

She jerks away and stalks toward the door. “Don’t touch me.”

In a response that clearly shows Edgar has no sense of self-preservation, he follows her and rests his hand on her shoulder again. He has only just touched her when Nadine whirls around and decks him right in the jaw. Edgar falls back and crumples to the floor.

“I said don’t touch me,” Nadine repeats, and then she’s gone.

I gasp and run over to him. “Edgar! Are you all right? Seb, can you get some ice or something?”

Edgar sits up and rubs his jaw, and he smiles up at me somewhat crookedly. “It’s all right. She usually feels better once she’s hit somebody.”

I can’t believe him. “And you just decided to up and offer your jaw to the cause?”

“It’s not the first time and probably won’t be the last. It’s how you know she likes you,” Edgar explains.

I don’t know who’s more insane, Nadine or him.

One comment on “NaNoWriMo Week 3 and #WriteMotivation Update

  1. YES! ๐Ÿ˜€ Muwah! Love you! ๐Ÿ˜€

    For those who don’t know…No, I’m not crazy. ๐Ÿ˜€ This is my usual response. Now off to find another instance to put shoulder squeezing into my novel… ;-D

Leave a Reply

