NaNoWriMo Week 2 and #WriteMotivation Update

I blame Victoria for this:

Scenes of Iron Man and Captain America from The Avengers. Set to “Can You Feel the Love Tonight” from The Lion King.

I laughed so hard I cried the first time I watched it. And thus, I share it with you.

On to the important stuff!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1. Finish Buzz stuff by November 12.
Movies are done. Weird news is 3/4 of the way done, and the TV notes are about halfway done. With any luck, I will finish them before or at the write-in tonight.

2. Write 50,000 words in November.

Minimum word count for November 11: 18,333/50,000

My word count: 18,481/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: For the second week in a row, I didn’t go to bed till almost 2:30 Saturday morning (because I’m dumb), which meant as soon as I got back from the write-in at the library (which was Saturday afternoon), I fell sound asleep for three solid hours. Fortunately, THIS week I don’t have something on Friday night, so I should be able to get to bed at a decent hour for once.

(Yes, you can all laugh at me next week when it turns out I didn’t go to bed until 3 a.m.)

Plus, remember the interview that Rebekah and I did? The article ran in yesterday’s paper! Here’s the link.

The writing itself has been off and on; between work and other obligations, I haven’t had much opportunity to write outside of the write-ins. Writing every single day isn’t as important to me this year as it was last year. Then, I had to get myself in the habit of it because I hadn’t been able to work on anything consistently for most of 2011.

This year, I’ve finished a third draft of a novel and started on the fourth draft. Writing is part of my daily habits now, which is very good. However, I am going to have to start working on the NaNo novel on a more regular basis or I’m going to kill myself at the write-ins trying to play catch-up.

Also, I managed to write 4,000 words of a steamy scene…where the characters DIDN’T ACTUALLY DO ANYTHING (there was kissing and a bit of touching and then a siren went off). I’m almost afraid to see what happens when I actually write a sex scene. It’s going to take up half the novel.

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited.

I make my way to the door and, after some investigation of the panels, manage to open it.

All right, I have found the bathroom. Wrong door.

I close the bathroom door and search the room for another way out. I find another panel and push it. This time, the door slides open to reveal a hallway. The sound of the sirens is even louder now.

“Quack!”

I jump half a mile into the air and turn around. Waddling across the floor in front of me is a duckling. A small, fluffy yellow duckling wearing a top hat, a monocle, and a tiny wooden cross. He looks up at me and cocks his head to one side. “Quack!”

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo Week 2 and #WriteMotivation Update

  1. Chelsie says:

    I am so proud of you! The newspaper article was great. Also, I want to read your NaNovel as soon as you hit 50K. It sounds EPIC.

Leave a Reply

