NaNoWriMo Week 1 and #WriteMotivation Update

We interrupt your regularly scheduled update post for some fangirl flailing.

So this came in the mail on Friday:

The Lyrics of Abney Park

NOW I WILL KNOW ALL THE WORDS.

The squeals. Oh my God, you guys, the squeals.

I’ve been waiting for this book since I got back from the OCW conference in October, so when it finally arrived, I did a happy dance in front of the mailbox in front of God and everyone.

I ran back inside with the mail, cradling the package carefully…and promptly dropped everything on the kitchen table because I had to run back out the door right that minute for an interview and could NOT open the box to look.

(Yes, Rebekah and I were interviewed by a reporter from the Tulsa World about NaNo! I have no idea when the story will run, but there will be links when it does!)

In fact, I didn’t get a chance to really dive in until 1:30 in the morning, when I finally got back from our kick-off party. And yes, I stayed up till almost 2:30 a.m. reading it.

ANYWAY.

My goal updates/weekly NaNo post:

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1. Finish Buzz stuff by November 12.
I’m about halfway finished with the movies, I’ve collected all the stories I need for weird news, and I’ve at least started the TV notes.

2. Write 50,000 words in November.

You know the drill by now:

Minimum word count for November 5: 8,333/50,000

My word count: 9,389/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: The first week of NaNo is always a mind trip, trying to run around and wrap up the last-minute things before NaNo starts. Rebekah and I were sitting outside the coffee shop before our interview on Friday, comparing notes on who needed to bring what and what we had to do before the kick-off that evening.

We did something we’ve never done before: combining the kick-off and the first write-in into one big get-together, which ended up with about 30 people crammed into every spare corner of Rebekah’s house. It was crazy and a ton of fun.

There may also have been an impromptu Abney Park karaoke session, which started because somebody asked Lissa and Serena “What’s steampunk?” and ended with the three of us singing “Scupper Shanty” and bouncing around the house.

Surprisingly, absolutely no alcohol was involved.

Then, after not getting to bed until 2:30 a.m., I got up on Saturday morning, got ready, and immediately ran out the door for our first library write-in, where we had about 26(!) people show up throughout the five hours we were there.

Just for the record: two five-hour write-ins in 24 hours? Good for productivity, bad for the sleep schedule. I got home, promptly flopped into bed, and slept for an hour and a half.

Plus, the writing itself has been interesting, because this story is so much different from anything I’ve ever done for NaNo before. For one, it’s first person present tense, which I have never written in my life. For two, it’s a parody, which again, I have never written in my life. For three, it’s TERRIBLE, and terrible’s what I’m going for, but I’m not sure if it’s “so terrible it’s funny” (yay!) or “so terrible it’s boring” (eep!).

Fortunately, I’m about at a part where everything goes crazy, so that will help.

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited.

“I don’t hang around the house all the time,” I complain. “Besides, I like reading.”

“Yes, but you aren’t going to meet anybody doing it,” Rena points out. “What, do you really think the perfect guy for you is going to just drop out of the sky?”

I open my mouth to retort when I hear a noise that sounds like a plane, except it is very loud and very close. My car starts to vibrate, and it has nothing to do with the natural bumps of the highway.

“What’s that noise?” Rena asks worriedly.

I crane my neck, but I can’t see. “Rena, I’ll have to call you back.”

5 comments on “NaNoWriMo Week 1 and #WriteMotivation Update

  1. FYI, I discovered that at the Tulsa World website you can search by the author’s name on the article, so I’m stalking the guy that did our interview until our article shows up! 😀

  2. *gets grabby hands* Want to read! 😀 So funny!

  3. […] remember the interview that Rebekah and I did? The article ran in yesterday’s paper! Here’s the […]

Leave a Reply

