Nimrod, NaNoWriMo, and November #WriteMotivation

Happy Halloween!

In other news, yay for alliteration!

If you follow me on Twitter, you probably saw me yammering on about the Nimrod Conference for Readers and Writers all day Saturday.

This is the first time I’ve been to Nimrod, and I went for one major reason: Gail Carriger was one of the featured speakers. And I’m a little bit of a fan.

I enjoyed the hell out of her workshop (about Gothic tropes in steampunk) and she had one of my favorite quotes from the entire conference during the very first panel of the day:

“Loving failure is a really good skill to develop as an author.”

Considering the conference was about the balance of risk and skill with writing, I found it appropriate. Because, let’s face it, once you start sending stuff out, you are (more than likely) going to become intimately acquainted with failure and rejection.

Not to mention, this totally happened:

Timeless - Autographed

Yes, overall, it was a good day. 😀

November #Writemotivation Goals

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Yes, November is another #WriteMotivation month, which coincides nicely with so many of us doing NaNoWriMo. If you’d like extra incentive for completing NaNo — or just want more people to cheer you on — check out #WriteMotivation. It’s a great group.

If you’re doing NaNo, add me as a buddy! You can get to my profile by clicking on that shiny ML icon in the sidebar.

I have all of two goals for the month:

1. Finish freelance articles by November 12.

2. Write 50,000 words on the NaNo novel.
Why yes, it is going to be the crazy Star Wars/Twilight/Fifty Shades fanfic-parody-Frankenstein thing mentioned originally in this post. I have no idea how it will turn out, other than horrible, but it will be epically FUN to write.

And now, I’m going to wander off and pretend NaNo doesn’t start tomorrow. (Or really, tonight, since I’ll start writing at midnight!)

4 comments on “Nimrod, NaNoWriMo, and November #WriteMotivation

  1. Ruth Layne says:

    I had never heard of Nimrod. I’ll have to check it out.

  2. I never know about local writing conferences until after they happen. I need to start paying more attention so I can actually go to some.

    • thebnc says:

      I believe Nimrod is always near the end of October every year, and up until this year, Bill Bernhardt did a writing seminar in June at TU as well. (I think he moved it to Rose State this year; not sure where it will be next year.)

Leave a Reply

