Holy Cow, Disney Owns Star Wars

So, if any of you were near a computer between 3:30 and 4 (Central time) today, you saw the “HOLY CRAP” news that Disney has purchased Lucasfilm.

And the Internet promptly had a collective freakout.

My reaction:

Seriously, the potential for character mashups with this will be EPIC.

Moises at Arthouse Cowboy has a lot of information on what’s coming from this acquisition, and he’s continuing to update that post with more information.

I just want to bring out two salient points from his article:

3) Disney plans to release a new Star Wars movie every 2-3 years starting in 2015. All of them will be in 3D.

4) Star Wars Episodes 7, 8, and 9 will be a trilogy. The treatment is done, is in “early stage development”, and the movies are to be released every other year.

Star Wars is actually the story responsible for getting me writing in the first place. The series holds a very special place in my heart, despite the significant problems I had with the prequels.

Generally, I don’t think there’s any way Disney could screw Star Wars up more than Lucas already has. And given how well Pixar and Marvel have done since Disney acquired them, this may actually be a very, very good thing.

While I would be hard-pressed to say that I’m squeaky-fangirl excited about this, I am cautiously optimistic.

And seriously, Disney? I want to see some Star Wars characters in Kingdom Hearts 3. And Marvel, while we’re at it. Make it happen.

Leave a Reply

