The Book List for My Soon-To-Be Niece

If you’ve followed me for a few months, you’ve probably heard me freak out about my brother and his wife having their first child in December, a little girl.

My thoughts run along two different lines regarding this development.

First off: Holy cow, my baby brother is gonna be a dad.

Scanners Head Explody

It breaks my brain.

Second off: I’M GONNA GIVE HER SO MANY BOOKS.

With thought number two in mind, I asked Facebook for book suggestions a couple of months ago and compiled a list. I figure with this, I’m set for birthdays and Christmases for every niece and nephew I have for the next few years.

Here’s what my Facebook friends recommended:

The Baby/Young Kid Books
Where the Wild Things Are (purchased)
Oh Say Can You Say (purchased)
Goodnight Moon
Are You My Mother?
Caps for Sale
A Pocket for Corduroy
Green Eggs and Ham
I’ll Love You Forever
Eloise
Blueberry Girl
The Wolves in the Walls
Amelia Bedelia
Henry and Mudge
Guess How Much I Love You
The Just So Stories
The Runaway Bunny
I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew
The Giving Tree
Oh the Places You’ll Go!
If You Give a Mouse a Cookie
The Kissing Hand
The Velveteen Rabbit
Rainbow Fish and the Big Blue Whale
Cat in the Hat
The Berenstain Bears
The Pokey Little Puppy
The Tawny Scrawny Lion

The Joke Books
Go the Fuck to Sleep
That is Not Your Mommy Anymore ā€“ A Zombie Tale
All My Friends Are Dead

Books for When She’s Older
Ramona Quimby
A Little Princess
The Secret Garden
Heidi
The Little Prince
Call of the Wild
Charlotte’s Web
Chronicles of Narnia
A Wrinkle in Time

Are there any books I’ve missed? What was your favorite book as a child?

9 comments on “The Book List for My Soon-To-Be Niece

  1. I have so many of these books! We had to replace our copy of Goodnight moon at one point because my youngest tore it apart.

    I need the joke books!

    • thebnc says:

      Hahaha! I did the same thing at age 2 with the book “Are You My Mother?” It was my favorite book, but apparently I just sat down one day and ripped it to pieces. My mother was horrified. (So is 28-year-old me, though I imagine 2-year-old me was thinking “I like this! I wonder how it’s put together?” at the time.)

      Pretty sure I got in a LOT of trouble for that one.

  2. Don’t forget Franklin and Little Critter! I loved both series growing up. ESPECIALLY Little Critter.

  3. You forgot one! The Named series by Clare Bell. It is a beautifully written tale about Ratha and her trials becoming leader and guiding her clan. Oh! And don’t forget Watership Down.

  4. Chelsie says:

    When she gets older, you absolutely have to introduce her to the Little House on the Prairie series. I still own all of them in that vain hope that I can pass them along to my own (nevergonnahappenyeahright) daughter or a niece.

  5. alysette says:

    Oh, so many books! I’m waiting for my nephew to grow older so I can deluge him.
    Some of my favorites:
    Anne of Green Gables
    Emily of New Moon
    The House with a Clock in its Wall
    The Westing Game (this is actually one of my all time favorites: I splurged on a hardcopy AND a Kindle edition and re-read it about once a year)
    From the Mixed-Up Files of …
    (just a start, I’m afraid)
    You will definitely have fun buying these books!

  6. […] may remember helping me pick out books to give to my niece. Well, on December 10 at precisely 3 p.m., said niece decided to grace us with her […]

Leave a Reply

