September #WriteMotivation – Week 4 Check-in

This’ll be a short one. I spent most of the weekend out of town, visiting my grandmother for her 85th(!!!) birthday, and after the editingstravaganza of last weekend (coupled with reading some not-very-good romances), I dove into Loretta Chase’s two newest books, Silk is for Seduction and Scandal Wears Satin, to give my brain a much-needed vacation.

One of these days I will write very detailed “I love these authors so much and here’s why” posts for the authors I pick up as a guarantee of good writing and decent stories. Even if the book ends up not being an “OMG FAVORITE!” thing, I usually enjoy it.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Here’s where the goals stand:

1) Finish Buzz stuff by Sept. 10.

2) Edit 5 chapters of the ’06 NaNo per week.
I got through four more chapters by Sunday, which puts me about 1/3 of the way through the book. I’m reaching a section that’s going to need some pretty heavy revising before I’m happy with it. It’s not bad, per se, but a lot’s happening in a relatively short time span and I want to make sure it’s believable.

Another adventure in editing is realizing just how many words and phrases you use over and over again. Apparently, my characters spend a lot of time squeezing each other’s shoulders. And now that I see it, I CAN’T UNSEE IT.

3) Post to the blog twice a week.
I did it last week! Barely, but I did it.

4) Post at least 2 reviews.
I’m going to try to get another one up this week (perhaps even two, depending on how productive I am).

5) Comment on at least 3 other blogs each week.
I…am not sure. I don’t think I commented on more than one or two. (Bad Critic, no cookie!)

I’ll probably have one more update next week, since September still has a full week left. After that, I can’t promise how much I’ll update. October is NaNo prep month, and November will be NaNo itself. (I can’t believe it’s almost here!)

How is your September going? Are you guys ready for the month to be over, or are you pretending we’ve got another week or two?

6 comments on “September #WriteMotivation – Week 4 Check-in

  1. LOL. *squeezes shoulder* Sorry about that one, hon. ;-D

    P.S. You’re doing awesome with your goals! 😀

  2. The shoulder thing is too funny. But congrats on your goals! You seem to be doing pretty well! Don’t stress too much from here to NaNo. You’ll have plenty driving you crazy without you adding to it. 😉

  3. Ryan Dunlap says:

    It’s okay, Kelsier shrugged and smiled all the time.

Leave a Reply

