The Critic’s Most Anticipated Fall Movies

First things first!

If you heard me squealing like a little fangirl on Wednesday, this would be why. 😀

I can’t WAIT till December.

But we have a few more months to get through before then, and luckily, we’ve got some decent movies (or at least, decent-looking movies) coming out.

Not that I’ll get a chance to see any of them right off, but if I manage to finagle a few extra hours between now and November, these are the movies I’m most likely to catch at the theater.

The Perks of Being a WallflowerThe Perks of Being a Wallflower – Sept. 21

Much like Forever by Judy Blume in eighth grade, The Perks of Being a Wallflower got passed around my group of friends in freshmen and sophomore years. (Which, frankly, is when just about everybody needs to read it.) It wasn’t my kind of book (“What do you mean, there aren’t any dragons?”), but I enjoyed it far more than I expected to.

In the same way, this isn’t normally the kind of movie that catches my eye, but the book stuck with me and I’m excited to see somebody finally filming it. The trailer looks like it captures the spirit of the book, which is damn hard to do, but makes me hopeful for this.

I’d like to give it a chance, just to see if it resonates with me the same way now as it did more than 10 years ago. (And since it’s been so long since I’ve actually read the story, any book/film inconsistencies will hopefully slip right past me.)

 

LooperLooper – Sept. 28

Time travel is so rarely done well in moves, but Looper looks excellent. Your past self fighting your future self? How cool is that?

Plus, Joseph Gordon-Levitt is fantastic, and he’s reuniting with his director from Brick…which I still haven’t seen. (Yes, yes, bad Critic, no cookie.)

They’ve done a great job making Gordon-Levitt look like a younger version of Bruce Willis, and the movie itself looks like it’s got a nice blend of sci-fi and action.

I love the idea behind this movie and I can’t wait to see how they pull it off. (And if they don’t, I will be sorely disappointed.)

 

Taken 2Taken 2 – Oct. 5

Taken was one of those movies that was exactly what it said on the tin. You walked in expecting an hour and a half of Liam Neeson kicking all kinds of ass, and by God, that’s what you got.

Sure, there was a story, but the whole point of the movie was watching him keep the promise he made in the trailer: “I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.” And it was AWESOME.

Taken 2 looks like exactly the same thing, only this time, it’s Liam Neeson who’s taken, along with his wife, by the father of one of the kidnappers he killed in the previous movie. (Of course, it’s not like that will STOP him from kicking ass and taking names.)

 

FrankenweenieFrankenweenie – Oct. 5

I don’t always love Tim Burton’s movies unconditionally, but I’m usually entertained and they almost always look really, really cool.

I’m a bit of a sucker for his visual style, particularly in its animated form. And Frankenweenie looks like a fantastic showcase for that style.

This movie is actually a remake of Burton’s very first short film from 1984 of the same name. It’ll be interesting to see how he expands the story to be feature-length. I also like that he’s done it in black-and-white. It gives the movie the same kind of feel as classic monster movies from the ’30s.

Besides, what better way to kick off October than with a stop-motion animated monster movie?

 

ArgoArgo – Oct. 12

After finding out about this movie, I had to look it up. Yes, it is indeed based on a true story. The CIA really did extract six diplomats from Iran by claiming they were part of a location scouting crew.

That. Is. AWESOME.

Not to mention, general consensus seems to be that Ben Affleck is a very, very good director. I still haven’t seen one of his films (the others being Gone Baby Gone and The Town), but this one is getting some good reviews out of the Toronto International Film Festival.

I’m really, really hoping this one is as good as it looks from the trailer. “Based on a true story” movies aren’t typically my cup of tea, but I’m seriously inclined to make an exception for Argo.

 

Are there any movies you guys are looking forward to in the next few months?

2 comments on “The Critic’s Most Anticipated Fall Movies

  1. I am also very excited about Looper! (And you definitely need to see Brick. I own it if you ever want to watch it, either with me or on loan, I don’t care.)

  2. Jessica Jones says:

    HOBBIT. 🙂

Leave a Reply

