September #WriteMotivation – Week 3 Check-in

This past weekend was my last free weekend before December. From now until the end of November, I have something going on every weekend, half of it out of town. So if my brain starts going “bzzt” a little early, you know why!

On another note, OCTOBER IS ALMOST HERE! 😀

Halloween is my favorite holiday. Last year I was so excited to finally be somewhere that we had TRICK-OR-TREATERS! There will be carved pumpkins this year. And Halloween cookies. Maybe. Depending entirely on how much my sheer joy of the holiday can carry me through the amount of stuff I have to do before October 31.

Also, I might have downloaded the Marilyn Manson version of “This is Halloween” and chain-played it about 30 times while I was cleaning the house. Just maybe.

If you haven’t heard it, here’s a fan video of the anime Soul Eater set to the song. (It’s not an anime I’ve ever seen, but the fan did a really good job of setting the animation to the song. Warning: It’s pretty freaky.)

(For that matter, I haven’t actually seen The Nightmare Before Christmas, either. It’s in the Netflix queue.)

ANYWAY.

Now that I’ve thoroughly scarred at least one person, let’s move on to the #writemotivation goals for the month.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Here’s where the goals stand:

1) Finish Buzz stuff by Sept. 10.

2) Edit 5 chapters of the ’06 NaNo per week.
I’ve finished up through chapter 12 in paper edits (which, thanks to me breaking up two super-long chapters, means I’m actually on chapter 15 now).

So I took a few days to actually import the edits into a Word document (draft four baby!). Said document also has comments from my loverly CPs, which let me (sort of) make three kinds of edits at once.

So far, I’ve killed 7,000 words out of what I hope will be at least 20,000. If I actually get it down to 110k, I will be stunned. That was about the length of draft one, which was more like a really, really, really detailed outline than an actual story.

3) Post to the blog twice a week.
I only made it one post last week. I’ll see if I can do better this week.

4) Post at least 2 reviews.
This is where it was last week.

5) Comment on at least 3 other blogs each week.
I think I hit this? I know I commented on other blogs. I should probably actually TRACK this, shouldn’t I?

How are your goals coming? Are you as excited for Halloween as I am? 😀

4 comments on “September #WriteMotivation – Week 3 Check-in

  1. Reading this makes me think that smoke is pouring out of your ears. 😀 Good luck with everything and don’t forget to sleep, eat, and bathe. 😀 Oh, and breathing would be a good thing too. 😀

  2. okay, as soon as I watch Death Note, Soul Eater is next. That was awesome!

  3. Jessica Jones says:

    Love that song! And congrats on making progress 🙂

  4. alysette says:

    Yes, now I totally want to watch Soul Eater.
    I will hopefully have my new house by Halloween, and finally have Trick or Treaters myself!
    Halloween is also my absolute favorite holiday. Not sure if I’ll get around to sending out cards this year though though (I don’t do Christmas cards).

Leave a Reply

