September #WriteMotivation – Week 2 Check-in

The first real week of September is down, and it was glorious. After a return to the triple-digit weather that’s plagued us for most of the summer, a cold front blew through on Friday (seriously blew; I had to drag all of our plants up to the back porch and hide them behind the grill to keep them from flying to Oz) and the temperature dropped like a rock.

I celebrated the lovely weather by doing yard work for three hours on Saturday morning. So our backyard no longer looks like a jungle from Jurassic Park, and I am no longer worried that my cat will get eaten by a raptor while he’s trying to pounce on garden snakes.

Hector, breaker of horses

Yeah, he’s vicious.

Plus, last week was a week “off” from work. I use the quotes because I worked more than I’d anticipated I would have to, but it wasn’t at the same frantic pace as usual. I actually had time to work on some things I’d been putting off for weeks, which has really helped to shrink the to-do list. And I was able to make some headway on my goals for this month.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Here’s where the #writemotivation goals stand:

1) Finish Buzz stuff by Sept. 10.
Finished them with 30 minutes to spare!

2) Edit 5 chapters of the ’06 NaNo per week.
I’ve finished up through chapter 9 in my own paper edits. I’m probably going to try and finish the whole thing on paper before I start making changes to the actual Word document.

Then again, I might get antsy and just go ahead and start making the changes sometime this week. Who knows?

3) Post to the blog twice a week.
Well, I posted three times last week, and I’ve got another post half-written for later this week. So far, so good on this one.

4) Post at least 2 reviews.
One down, one to go.

5) Comment on at least 3 other blogs each week.
I hit this as well. I’m going to try to step it up to comment on a few more this week. We’ll see how it goes!

How are your goals coming?

6 comments on “September #WriteMotivation – Week 2 Check-in

  1. Woot! Way to go, Michelle! 😀 This is awesome progress. 😀 Btw, you can come clean up my backyard if you want. 😀

    P.S. I have the tagged post written, but keep having to reschedule due to other blog posts needing to be put up. I promise soon.

  2. Well done in crossing the first one off! As for paper edits, I think the MS I’m revising now (for the last time, please God) is going to get the first complete paper edit I’ve ever done. I don’t like printing on all that paper, but I know I always see new things when it’s tangible. Good luck with the rest of your goals! 🙂

    • thebnc says:

      It’s also really nice to see a physical marker of how far you’ve come with editing. I can see at a glance that I’m about 1/3 of the way through the book, which is really heartening. 🙂

      One of the pieces of advice they give you during NaNo is to print out the new stuff you’ve written and add it to a pile near your computer. That way you can see the growing paper stack and know how far you’ve come. I’ve never done that myself, but I can definitely see the appeal. (Also, paper backups. Paper backups are GOOD.)

  3. you are rocking the goals, girl! btw, i am loving the change of weather. when we had that one triple digit day i almost cried – no, no no! i can’t do any more! so glad fall is finally here! i’m more productive when it’s rainy.

    • thebnc says:

      Me too. Fall is my favorite season, mostly because Halloween is my favorite holiday and November is NaNo. 😀 I’m loving the chance to put on a long-sleeved shirt and jeans again.

Leave a Reply

