September #WriteMotivation – Week 1 Check-in

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Well, September is only just underway, and I’ve spent most of the weekend recovering from August. I’ve gone to the movies (hello, Batman, so nice to finally see you) and picked up a dozen new books (yes, literally, one dozen new books).

Of those books, included is the anthology that has “This Wicked Gift” by Courtney Milan, one of two books of hers I don’t yet have. (The other is the anthology Midnight Scandals, which came out about a week ago.) I think this officially puts me in the camp of “fangirl.”

I also think I shouldn’t be allowed near a bookstore for about a week.

1) Finish Buzz stuff by Sept. 10.
I’ve gotten started on both of my articles, and I’ve found about half the articles I’ll need for weird news. So we’re off to a good start here.

2) Edit 5 chapters of the ’06 NaNo per week.
It’s printed!

TSB - Draft 3

When you add all three drafts together, I’ve printed out more than 1500 pages. This is only draft three.

So over the next few days I’ll start going through it in editing mode, making my own notes, and then combine those with the feedback I’ve gotten from my CPs so far.

3) Post to the blog twice a week.
With this, I’ve posted three times in September thus far. Huzzah!

4) Post at least 2 reviews.
If I actually write reviews for everything I’ve seen and read over the past couple of weeks, I’ll meet this easily.

5) Comment on at least 3 other blogs each week.
Haven’t started yet, but I will soon!

9 comments on “September #WriteMotivation – Week 1 Check-in

  1. Mia K Rose says:

    Wow, 1500 pages, massive. I’m guessing you print single-sided and double spaced to make editing easier on yourself? I hope you have a fast printer!

    Good luck with the editing and the rest of your September goals.

    • thebnc says:

      Haha, thank you! No, that chunk o’ paper up there is 522 pages double-spaced. (And it took about half an hour to print out.)

      I’ve got drafts one and two in binders in my bedroom somewhere. One of these days, I’ll take a picture of all three and we can all say together, “Dear God, woman, you need to learn how to edit.”

      Good luck on your own goals!

  2. Holy cow. That’s a ton to print out. I’m impressed.

    Good luck with your #WriteMotivation goals!

  3. omg! i dread printing out my entire manuscript, which i must do at the end of my editing process THIS MONTH. it won’t be anywhere near that long, but still…that is a LOT of paper. here’s to us both meeting our editing goals! and i am in deep envy of your book-acquiring spree. i too have put a hold on my buying until i read everything i’ve bought this pas summer. (don’t worry, it won’t last!)

  4. Wow! Love seeing the images of printed MSS! 😀 One day, I swear I will do mine! hehe

    Good luck on all your goals! They look so daunting to me, but I know you are crazy fast at everything, just like KT!

    • thebnc says:

      There is something really, really overwhelming (in a good way) about printing off an entire manuscript and actually holding it. There’s a moment of “Wow, I wrote this!”…right before the “Dear God, I don’t know how to shut up.” 😉

Leave a Reply

