August Camp NaNo Wrap-Up and September #WriteMotivation

Well, Camp NaNo is over for another year, and I think I *might* be overdoing it trying to get in three 50k months in one year. I did pretty well and got a big chunk of the beginning of my novel written, but between paying work and a writing contest, I missed the 50k mark.

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

Minimum word count for August 30: 50,000/50,000

My final word count: 46,539/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: The day job alternated between good and frustrating this week: good because I got the opportunity to launch a couple of websites that sorely needed it, and frustrating because I spent quite a bit of the week troubleshooting problems to no avail.

There are still several work-related things I need to finish, particularly since we’re taking all of next week off. I’m looking forward to it, but that means I need to clear my plate so I can actually enjoy it.

Plus, I completely forgot Friday was August 31, so I spent most of the day rapidly editing three pieces to enter in a writing contest. I got them shipped off an hour before the post office closed, though, so I feel like I did accomplish something.

Not to mention I spent Friday night hanging out with some writing friends. Considering how much of my time is spent in front of a screen (web dev by day, writer by night), it’s nice to get out and talk with other people, especially other writers.

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited, as always.

He sat across from her and put the papers neatly together, then drew the quill with a flourish. “Name?”

She’d seen shorter contracts on the king’s desk. Kiral blinked. “That whole thing?”

“Hmm?” Rety looked up at her, his pale eyes guileless and confused. “What whole thing?”

Kiral pointed at the stack of papers. “That whole thing. That’s what you want me to answer?”

“Oh!” He seemed to realize what she meant. “Oh, no no. Not at all.”

She relaxed. Maybe this wouldn’t be quite as bad as she feared.

“This is just the first part,” Rety said. “There’s another two.”

And September #WriteMotivation goals!

1) Finish Buzz stuff by Sept. 10.
2) Edit 5 chapters of the ’06 NaNo per week.
3) Post to the blog twice a week.
4) Post at least 2 reviews.
5) Comment on at least 3 other blogs each week.

5 comments on “August Camp NaNo Wrap-Up and September #WriteMotivation

  1. I could hardly manage one nano – three is just insane. Still you were so close. Nice excerpt.

  2. jocelynrish says:

    I’ve done regular NaNo several times, but I never have enough ‘oomph’ left in me to try Camp NaNo on top of that. Hats off to you!

    Wishing you a very productive #writemotivation month,
    Jocelyn

  3. Jennings says:

    Congrats! I limped across the finish line with 37 words to spare, but i had taken 9 days off writing due to several factors, so I was happy with it. Still working to try to finish the novel, though. I did Nov NaNo, Script Frenzy, and both camps… and I’ll do November again (it’s the most fun, because of the community), but only 1 camp next year, and they’ve cancelled Screnzy. It IS a bit much, although it’s nice to have the work done!

  4. […] is also the contest I entered back in August. Two of my stories placed: “Benny’s Bedtime Adventure,” which won second place at […]

Leave a Reply

