August Camp NaNo – Week 2

I have signed up for the September #WriteMotivation! Are you going to do it? You should do it. It’s a lot of fun, and we’re a rowdy crowd. I love it.

Also, on a completely un-writing-related note: it’s raining. Hallelujah, praise ye the Lord, it is RAINING.

Rain by mxgirl85

It’s raining, it’s pouring, the old man is snoring…

Now if only it will keep doing this for the next two weeks. I don’t even care if it rains at the write-in on Sunday.

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

Minimum word count for August 10: 27,419/50,000

My current word count: 24,119/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: WELL. This week has been entertaining, to say the least. After getting so little written during the first part of the month (thanks to my birthday and wrapping up freelance stuff), I’ve written at least 2,500 words every day since Monday. (WOOO!)

Oddly, the week itself has been far more productive than the weekend, though that’s because I spent Saturday TRAVELING!

That’s right, I got a chance to meet several of the #WriteMotivation crew in person. Some I’d already met at OWFI, others I was meeting for the first time. It was a WHOLE lot of fun, and I hope we get a chance to do it again.

Also, I got a rejection letter on the project I’d pitched at OWFI. However, it was a very encouraging personal rejection, so I was a lot happier about it than you might expect. Like, bouncing-around-the-house-let’s-go-celebrate happy. There was beer. (Kind of makes you wonder what I’ll do if I ever actually get published. Probably explode from the sheer excitement.)

I have also been steadfastly avoiding White Collar season three. I know if I watch it I will get absolutely nothing else done, so I’m trying to keep myself away from it until I catch up with where I ought to be for Camp NaNo.

And this weekend is the August write-in! I’m so excited. We’re going to have a cookout and I’m going to make s’mores cookies. It’s going to be awesome.

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited, as always.

Pain twisted her heart, as though someone had shoved a knife into her chest and wrenched it. Kiral gasped and staggered to the side, trying to catch herself on the edge of the desk.

“Miss?” The mapmaker jumped to her side. “Miss, are you quite all right?”

The woman’s voice seemed to be coming from very far away. Darkness closed on the edges of her vision, and for a moment, Kiral was positive she would faint right there in the middle of the mapmaker’s shop.

Go north.

That voice was clear and unmistakable. Kiral gritted her teeth and closed her eyes against the pain. I’m trying, you idiot.

Rain photo by mxgirl85

One comment on “August Camp NaNo – Week 2

Leave a Reply

